History of the College of Business
150 Years and Counting
The University of Iowa has been providing business curriculum for more than 150 years. What started as subject matter in a course on moral philosophy in 1858 has evolved into one of the country’s most vibrant and active business programs.
Business education received UI college status (as the College of Commerce) in 1921 and was accredited by the American Association of Collegiate Schools of Business (AACSB) just two years later. The college has always recognized the importance of job placement and established its first career services office in 1949.
Throughout the decades, the college became organized into six departments and added institutes and centers that focus on student needs or specific areas of research. The MBA program began formally in 1961. Off-campus MBA offerings were first presented in 1966, and the Executive MBA Program was launched in 1977.
Courses have been offered in the Hall of Liberal Arts (now Schaeffer Hall), University Hall (now Jessup Hall), Phillips Hall (opened in 1965), and, in 1993, the state-of-the-art Pappajohn Business Building. The 2005 opening of the Pomerantz Center gave a permanent home to the Full-time and Executive MBA programs as well as the undergraduate Pomerantz Career Center.
Through the years, our programs have gone by many names. Renamed the College of Business Administration in 1959, the college underwent a transformation when it was renamed for benefactor and alumnus Henry B. Tippie in 1999. Today, the Tippie College of Business provides outstanding programs for undergraduates, MBA students, Master of Accountancy students, and Ph.D. students. Students study in Iowa City, in key locations around the state, and abroad in such places as Hong Kong, Italy, and London.
With more than 150 years to its credit, the Tippie College of Business has had and continues to have a lasting impact on its students.