About Tippie

Tippie Facts

The University of Iowa has been providing business education since 1858. The College of Commerce was officially established in 1921 and two years later, it was accredited by the American Association of Collegiate Schools of Business (AACSB) and has held that accreditation ever since. Today it is called the Henry B. Tippie College of Business and the motivation is the same: to provide a strong business program that ensures that students have the skills to be successful in the business world.


Today, the Tippie College offers a variety of programs to undergraduate and graduate students. The growth has been impressive as are the numbers:

Faculty & Staff

Within the Tippie College, our dedicated faculty and staff members of the Tippie College of Business are exceptional scholars, educators, business professionals, and program innovators. Many have received awards for their exemplary performance. The 102 permanent faculty members within the Tippie College are organized into the six academic departments. This includes 43 full professors, 20 associate professors, 20 assistant professors, 15 lecturers, and 4 clinical faculty members.


There are more than 46,000 living alumni of the Tippie College who are working in places as far away as Taiwan and as close as Iowa City. More than 1,700 of those alumni live in the state of Iowa.