Accounting

Faculty

Iowa's accounting faculty members are "thought leaders" in accounting education and research. Not only are they noted for their teaching excellence, they have authored leading textbooks, and served as advisors to accounting regulatory bodies. You can read more about the textbooks authored by Tippie accounting faculty on page 3 of the fall 2008 issue of The Iowa Ledger magazine.

In addition, the department ranks highly in a recent study of accounting research departments by topical area and methodology based on publications in top accounting research journals over the last six and 12 years. The Iowa accounting department ranks 3rd nationally in the area of tax research, 9th nationally in financial accounting research, and 10th nationally across all topical areas.

Tenured and Tenure-Track Faculty


H. Scott Asay H. Scott Asay     scott-asay@uiowa.edu
Office: S232 Building    Phone: 319-335-0852
Assistant Professor
Academic History:
  • - PhD in Accounting, Cornell University, Ithaca, NY, 2013
  • - MS in Management, Cornell University, Ithaca, NY, 2012
  • - MAc in Accounting, Brigham Young University, Provo, UT, 2008
  • - BA in Accounting, Brigham Young University, Provo, UT, 2007
Expertise: Judgment and decision making in accounting settings.
Ramji Balakrishnan Ramji Balakrishnan     ramji-balakrishnan@uiowa.edu
Office: W262A Building    Phone: 319-335-0958
Professor and Director, McGladrey Institute of Accounting Education and Research
Carlson-KPMG Research Professor of Accounting

Academic History:
  • - PhD in Accounting, Columbia University, New York, NY, 1986
  • - MBA, Indian Institute of Management, India, 1979
  • - BSc in Statistics, University of Madras, India, 1977
Expertise: Cost management, Cost systems, Incentive contracting
Joyce Berg Joyce Berg     joyce-berg@uiowa.edu
Office: S284 Building    Phone: 319-335-0840
Professor and Director, Iowa Electronic Markets
Sidney G. Winter Professor of Accounting

Academic History:
  • - PhD in Accounting, University of Minnesota, 1988
  • - MBA, University of Minnesota, 1985
  • - BSB in Accounting, University of Minnesota, 1979
Expertise: Design of Incentive Systems, Experimental Markets, Internet Markets and Market Design, Iowa Electronic Markets, Management Accounting, Prediction Markets
Daniel Collins Daniel Collins     daniel-collins@uiowa.edu
Office: W252 Building    Phone: 319-335-1048
Professor and Department Executive Officer
Henry B. Tippie Research Chair in Accounting

Academic History:
  • - PhD in Accounting, The University of Iowa, 1973
  • - BBA in Accounting, The University of Iowa, 1968
Expertise: Corporate Governance and its effects on debt and equity cost of capital, Empirical assessments of earnings quality, Financial accounting, Role of earnings and other accounting numbers in struggles for corporate control
Douglas DeJong Douglas DeJong     douglas-dejong@uiowa.edu
Office: W348 Building    Phone: 319-335-0919
Professor
Lloyd J. and Thelma W. Palmer Professor of Accounting

Academic History:
  • - PhD in Accounting, University of Michigan, 1980
  • - MBA in Finance, University of Iowa, 1971
  • - BBA in Accounting, University of Iowa, 1970
Expertise: Corporate Governance (US and International), Experimental Economics: strategic games, markets and econometrics, Healthcare Industry - financial analysis for the healthcare industry, International Financial Reporting Standards (IFRS)
Cristi Gleason Cristi Gleason     cristi-gleason@uiowa.edu
Office: W350 Building    Phone: 319-335-1505
Associate Professor
Henry B. Tippie Research Fellow

Academic History:
  • - PhD in Management, Cornell University, 1998
  • - MAc in Accounting, Brigham Young University, 1992
  • - BS in Accounting, Brigham Young University, 1990
Expertise: Financial Accounting and Reporting, Financial Reporting of Income Tax
Paul Hribar Paul Hribar     paul-hribar@uiowa.edu
Office: W346 Building    Phone: 319-335-1008
Professor and Director, PhD Program in Accounting
Leonard A. Hadley Research Professor of Accounting

Academic History:
  • - PhD in Accounting, The University of Iowa, 2000
  • - MSc in Accounting, College of Commerce, University of Saskatchewan, 1995
  • - BMgt in Accounting, Faculty of Management, University of Lethbridge, 1992
Expertise: Empirical/Archival Research in Financial Accounting. Specialties include measurement of earnings management using empirical models; accounting-based anomalies; predicting stock returns using accounting data.
Kevin Markle Kevin Markle     kevin-markle@uiowa.edu
Office: W322 Building    Phone: 319-335-1903
Assistant Professor
Academic History:
  • - PhD in Business Administration, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, NC, 2010
  • - BS Ed in Intermediate-Senior Education, University of Toronto, Canada, 1994
  • - BSc in Mathematical Science, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, NC, 1992
Samuel Melessa Samuel Melessa     samuel-melessa@uiowa.edu
Office: W352 Building    Phone: 319-335-0939
Assistant Professor
Academic History:
  • - PhD in Accounting, Duke University, 2012
  • - MS in Economics, University of Utah, 2007
  • - BS in Business (emphasis Finance), Brigham Young University, 2001
Expertise: Empirical/Archival Research in Financial Accounting
Richard Mergenthaler Richard Mergenthaler     rick-mergenthaler@uiowa.edu
Office: W276 Building    Phone: 319-335-0848
Associate Professor
Ernst & Young Research Fellow

Academic History:
  • - PhD in Accounting, University of Washington, 2008
  • - MAc, Brigham Young University, 2002
  • - BS in Accounting, Brigham Young University, 2002
Mark Penno Mark Penno     mark-penno@uiowa.edu
Office: W324 Building    Phone: 319-335-1409
Professor
Ray William Shearman Research Fellow

Academic History:
  • - PhD in Accounting and Information Systems, Northwestern University, 1983
  • - MS in Business, University of Wisconsin, 1977
  • - BA in Philosophy, University of Wisconsin, 1973
Expertise: Accounting Theory
Jaron Wilde Jaron Wilde     jaron-wilde@uiowa.edu
Office: W280 Building    Phone: 319-335-0849
Assistant Professor
Academic History:
  • - MAc in Accounting (taxation emphasis), Marriott School of Management, Brigham Young University, Provo, UT, 2004
  • - BS in Accounting, Marriott School of Management, Brigham Young University, 2004
  • - PhD in Accounting, Mays Business School, Texas A&M University, College Station, TX, 2013
Expertise: Taxation and financial reporting, with an emphasis on the effect of monitors and regulation on firms’ tax and financial reporting behavior.

Lecturers


Amy An Amy An     amy-an@uiowa.edu
Office: C350 Building    Phone: 319-335-1405
Lecturer
Academic History:
  • - MA in Accounting, The University of Iowa, 1982
  • - BA Honors in French, University of British Columbia, Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada, 1973
Expertise: Compliance, research, and review of business entity tax issues.
Thomas Carroll Thomas Carroll     thomas-carroll@uiowa.edu
Office: S324 Building    Phone: 319-335-2727
Lecturer and Director, MAc Program
Academic History:
  • - PhD in Accounting, University of Michigan, 1988
  • - BBA in Accounting, University of Notre Dame, 1979
Expertise: Financial reporting
Kevin Den Adel Kevin Den Adel     kevin-denadel@uiowa.edu
Office: W372 Building    Phone: 319-335-1412
Lecturer and Director, Accounting Undergraduate Program
Academic History:
  • - PhD in Accounting, The University of Iowa, 1999
  • - BA in Accounting, Central College, Pella, IA, 1991
Expertise: Auditing , Financial Reporting
Lisa Dutchik Lisa Dutchik     lisa-dutchik@uiowa.edu
Office: W262B Building    Phone: 319-384-1915
Lecturer
Academic History:
  • - MAc, Henry B. Tippie College of Business, The University of Iowa, 2000
  • - BA in Accounting, St. Ambrose University, Davenport, IA, 1989
Robert Hartman Robert Hartman     robert-hartman@uiowa.edu
Office: C368 Building    Phone: 319-335-3781
Lecturer
Academic History:
  • - MAc, The University of Iowa, 1998
  • - BS in Accounting, Pennsylvania State University, 1975
Expertise: Financial Accounting and Reporting, Government and Not-for-Profit Accounting, Internal Auditing, Management Accounting

Adjunct and Visiting Faculty


Kris Gulick Kris Gulick     kris-gulick@uiowa.edu
Office: W252 Building    Phone: 319-360-9161
Adjunct Lecturer
Academic History:
  • - BA, Coe College, Cedar Rapids, IA, 1986
  • - , CPA, State of Iowa
  • - MA, University of Iowa, 1982
  • - BA, University of Northern Iowa, Cedar Falls, IA, 1980
Mary Murphy Mary Murphy     mary-murphy-1@uiowa.edu
Office: W259 Building    Phone: 319-335-0913
Adjunct Lecturer
Academic History:
  • - JD, The University of Iowa, 1988
  • - MBA, Marquette University, Milwaukee, WI, 1985
  • - BA in English, Marquette University, 1983
Expertise: Business Law
Kevin Trout Kevin Trout     robert-trout@uiowa.edu
Office: S316 Building    Phone: 319-335-3756
Adjunct Lecturer
Academic History:
  • - BS in Finance, Utah State University
  • - MA in Finance, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
  • - MA in Taxation, University of Tulsa, 2010
  • - MAc in Accounting, University of Iowa, 2003
Suning Zhang Suning Zhang     suning-zhang@uiowa.edu
Office: W362 Building    Phone: 319-335-3790
Visiting Assistant Professor
Academic History:
  • - PhD in Accounting, University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, MN, 2007
  • - MBA in Accounting and Finance, Ohio State University, Columbus, OH, 1998


Top