Read the winning essays for 2014!

You can also view information about past essay contests.

2015 Mary Thomas Prappas Ethics Essay Contest

Undergraduate students in the Tippie College of Business are encouraged to enter the Mary Thomas Prappas Business Ethics Essay Contest, funded through a generous contribution from business alumna Mary Thomas Prappas. While contest entry is a requirement for students in the Introduction to Law course, all Tippie undergraduate business students are eligible to participate. Essays are based on a scenario that includes an ethical situation to reflect upon.

Interested students should e-mail an essay as a Word doc to Pamela Bourjaily, Director of the Frank Center (, by May 4th to be considered for this year's contest.

Thanks to the generosity of Mary and Dempsey Prappas, the top-ranked essays receive monetary awards. 1st-, 2nd-, and 3rd-place winners receive $3,000, $2,000, and $1,000, respectively.

2014 Contest

From over 1,000 entrants, 10 finalists were selected in May 2014 for the 2014 contest. The finalists for the 2014 contest were: Zach Desmond, Hayley Driscoll, Rachel Fuller, Kristofer Knight, Katherine Hauck, Jake Luerkens, Jade Manternach, Aaron Morse, Lydia Neeley, and Benjamin Olson. Congratulations to these Tippie students for their outstanding essays. After having the summer to revise their essays with the assistance of the Frank Center director, the finalists submitted their essays for the last round of judging. Prominent members of the business community in Iowa read and evaluated the finalists' essays and determined the top three winners. The first-place winner was Jade Manternach, a senior majoring in Entrepreneurial Management. The second-place winner was Lydia Neeley, a senior engaged in a business economics policy and interdepartmental studies-health science track double major. The third-place winner was Rachel Fuller, a senior completing a major in accounting. The winners were recognizes at a lunch on November 19th with Mary Thomas Prappas in attendance.

Questions regarding the contest should be e-mailed to Frank Center director Pamela Bourjaily (