About Tippie

Deans of the Henry B. Tippie College of Business

Sarah GardialSarah Fisher Gardial

Dean, 2012-present

Sarah Fisher Gardial became the first woman dean of the college on July 1, 2012. Gardial, the former vice provost of the University of Tennessee, Knoxville, joined the marketing faculty of the University of Tennessee's College of Business Administration in 1986 and later served as assistant dean for the full-time MBA program and associate dean for academic programs. Prior to coming to Iowa, she had served as the vice provost for faculty affairs since 2008, oversaw faculty recruitment and development, and participated on the planning and implementation teams for the university's strategic plan.

Curt HunterWilliam C. (Curt) Hunter

Dean, 2006-2012

During Curt Hunter's tenure, business students are now more prepared for successful careers in the global workplace because they have increased opportunities for hands-on learning, international travel and learning experiences, and innovative programming that is geared toward solidifying their prospects for success.

Gary FethkeGary C. Fethke

Dean, 1993-2006

Gary Fethke's accomplishments impact all areas of the college, including the completion of the Pappajohn Business Building in 1994 and the Pomerantz Center in 2005; creation of a number of student-focused centers and institutes; expanded MBA offerings across the state and in Hong Kong; an early admission program for undergraduates; and an increased number of named faculty chairs, professorships, and fellowships.

George DalyGeorge G. Daly

Dean, 1983-1993

George Daly stepped in as dean in 1983 and helped to put the college on the map. Daly placed an emphasis on admitting the best students, hiring top faculty, and he expanded the Executive MBA Program. His most notable contribution was the development of the John Pappajohn Business Building.

Emmett VaughanEmmett J. Vaughan

Interim Dean, 1981-1983

Emmett Vaughan was handed the reigns as interim dean during a period of rapid growth for the college. A recent recession and the admittance of women to the college resulted in record enrollment numbers.

Richard ZecherJ. Richard Zecher

Dean, 1978-1981

Richard Zecher's time as the dean of the College of Business Administration was short but impactful. His major accomplishment was restructuring the school into four departments: finance, industrial relations and human resources, marketing, and management sciences. This new structure formed the foundation for the future of the school.

Bill BarnesBilly L. Barnes

Dean, 1963-1978

Billy Barnes became the interim dean following Winter's resignation but within a year had committed to being the permanent dean. With the help of the University of Iowa president, Howard Bowen, Barnes helped the college transition to a research institution. Barnes also expanded the college's course offerings to continuing education programs, including the Executive MBA Program.

Sidney WinterSidney G. Winter

Dean, 1950-1963

Sidney Winter continued the tradition of excellence in the College of Commerce. Winter renamed the school to the College of Business Administration and oversaw the development of the MBA Program. His most notable achievement, however, was the construction of the first building to house the College of Business, Phillips Hall.

Chester A. PhillipsChester A. Phillips

Dean, 1921-1950

As the first dean of the University of Iowa College of Commerce, Chester Phillips was instrumental in shaping the college. Under Phillips' guidance, the college earned accredidation and featured nationally ranked faculty in accounting, banking and finance, and economics.