Finance

Faculty

Tenured and Tenure-Track Faculty


Rabah Amir Rabah Amir     rabah-amir@uiowa.edu
Office: W282 PBB    Phone: 319-335-1230
Professor and Director, PhD Program in Economics
J. Edward Lundy Professor of Economics

Academic History:
  • - PhD in Economics, University of Illinois, Urbana, 1985
Expertise: Game Theory, Industrial Economics, Microeconomic Theory
Michael Choi Michael Choi     yufai-choi@uiowa.edu
Office: W336 PBB    Phone: 319-384-1911
Assistant Professor
Academic History:
  • - PhD in Economics, University of Wisconsin-Madison, 2013
  • - MA in Economics, Boston University, 2007
  • - BE in Computer Engineering, Chinese University of Hong Kong, 2003
Expertise: Macroeconomics, Microeconomics, Monetary Economics, Search Theory
Luciano De Castro Luciano De Castro     luciano-decastrofilho@uiowa.edu
Office: W286 PBB    Phone: 319-335-0963
Associate Professor
Academic History:
  • - PhD in Mathematical Economics, National Institute for Pure and Mathematics (IMPA), Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, 2004
  • - MS in Mathematical Economics, National Institute for Pure and Applied Mathematics (IMPA), Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, 2001
  • - MBA, Getulio Vargas Foundation, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, 1999
  • - BA in Electronics Engineering, Technological Institute of Aeronautics (ITA), San Jose dos Campos, Brazil, 1995
David Frisvold David Frisvold     david-frisvold@uiowa.edu
Office: W374 PBB    Phone: 319-335-0957
Assistant Professor
Academic History:
  • - PhD in Economics, Vanderbilt University, 2006
  • - MA in Economics, Vanderbilt University, 2005
  • - BS in Mathematical Economics, Wake Forest University, 1998
Expertise: Economics of Education, Health Economics, Labor Economics, Public Economics
Antonio Galvao Antonio Galvao     antonio-galvao@uiowa.edu
Office: W284 PBB    Phone: 319-335-1810
Associate Professor
Henry B. Tippie Research Fellow

Academic History:
  • - PhD in Economics, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign, 2009
  • - MS in Statistics, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign, 2007
  • - MA in Economics, Getulio Vargas Foundation, 2003
  • - BA in Economics, Federal University of Minas Gerais, 2001
Expertise: Applied Econometrics, Econometric Theory
Martin Gervais Martin Gervais     martin-gervais@uiowa.edu
Office: W384 PBB    Phone: 319-335-2087
Associate Professor
Henry B. Tippie Research Fellow

Academic History:
  • - PhD in Economics, The University of Western Ontario, 1999
  • - MA in Economics, The University of Western Ontario, 1995
  • - MBA, Universite Laval, 1993
  • - BA in Accounting, Universite Laval, 1991
Expertise: Housing Economics, Labor Economics, Macroeconomics, Public Finance
Kyungmin Kim Kyungmin Kim     kyungmin-kim@uiowa.edu
Office: W382 PBB    Phone: 319-335-0982
Assistant Professor
Academic History:
  • - PhD in Economics, University of Pennsylvania, 2009
  • - BA in Economics, Seoul National University, Korea, 2004
Expertise: Applied Economic Theory, Game Theory
Forrest Nelson Forrest Nelson     forrest-nelson@uiowa.edu
Office: W386 PBB    Phone: 319-335-0854
Professor
Henry B. Tippie Research Fellow

Academic History:
  • - PhD in Economics, University of Rochester, 1975
  • - MS in Economics, University of Rochester, 1974
  • - BS in Agricultural Economics, Colorado State University, 1968
Expertise: Prediction Markets, Qualitative and Limited Dependent Variables
George Neumann George Neumann     george-neumann@uiowa.edu
Office: W388 PBB    Phone: 319-335-0850
Professor
George Daly Professor of Economics

Academic History:
  • - PhD in Economics, Northwestern University, 1974
  • - MA in Economics, Northwestern University, 1969
  • - BA in Economics, Le Moyne College, 1968
Expertise: Economics of Union Activity, Influenza Models, Stochastic Models of Labor Markets, Using Markets to Aggregate Information with Small Numbers of Traders
Alexandre Poirier Alexandre Poirier     alexandre-poirier@uiowa.edu
Office: W378 PBB    Phone: 319-335-3811
Assistant Professor
Academic History:
  • - PhD in Economics, University of California, Berkeley, 2013
  • - MA in Statistics, University of California, Berkeley, 2011
  • - BSc in Mathematics and Economics, Université de Montréal, 2007
Expertise: Applied Econometrics, Econometric Theory
Raymond Riezman Raymond Riezman     raymond-riezman@uiowa.edu
Office: W360 PBB    Phone: 319-335-0832
Professor
C. Woody Thompson Research Professor of Economics

Academic History:
  • - PhD in Economics, University of Minnesota, 1977
  • - BA in Economics, Washington University-St. Louis, 1969
Expertise: International trade, Microeconomics, Political economy
Alice Schoonbroodt Alice Schoonbroodt     alice-schoonbroodt@uiowa.edu
Office: W334 PBB    Phone: 319-335-0915
Assistant Professor
Academic History:
  • - PhD in Economics, University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, MN, 2006
  • - MA in Economics, McGill University, Montreal, Canada, 2000
  • - BA in Economics, Universite Catholique de Louvain, LLN, Belgium, 1999
Expertise: Macroeconomics, Demographic Economics, Family Economics, Growth & Development
John Solow John Solow     john-solow@uiowa.edu
Office: W210 PBB    Phone: 319-335-0845
Professor, Departmental Executive Officer, and Director, Business Honors Program
Justice International Business Research Fellow

Academic History:
  • - PhD in Economics, Stanford University, 1983
  • - MA in Economics, Stanford University, 1981
  • - BA in Economics, Yale University, 1976
Expertise: Antitrust, Industrial Organization, Law and Economics, Sports Economics
Hennadige Thenuwara Hennadige Thenuwara     hennadige-thenuwara@uiowa.edu
Office: W338 PBB    Phone: 319-335-1811
Adjunct Assistant Professor
Academic History:
  • - PhD in Economics, The University of Iowa, 1997
  • - MA in Econometrics, University of Manchester, UK, 1988
  • - MSc in Applied Statistics, University of Colombo, Sri Lanka, 1984
  • - BSc in Physics, Pure Mathematics, and Industrial Management, University of Kelaniya, Sri Lanka, 1980
Anne Villamil Anne Villamil     anne-villamil@uiowa.edu
Office: W354 PBB    Phone: 319-335-3944
Professor
Henry B. Tippie Research Fellow

Academic History:
  • - PhD in Economics, University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, MN, 1988
  • - BA in Economics, University of Rochester, Rochester, NY, 1980
Nicholas Yannelis Nicholas Yannelis     nicholas-yannelis@uiowa.edu
Office: W380 PBB    Phone: 319-335-2290
Professor
Henry B. Tippie Research Professor of Economics

Academic History:
  • - PhD in Economics, University of Rochester, Rochester, NY, 1983
  • - MA, University of Rochester, 1979
  • - MA, London School of Economics, 1977
  • - BA, Athens School of Economics, 1976
Nicolas Ziebarth Nicolas Ziebarth     nicolas-ziebarth@uiowa.edu
Office: W344 PBB    Phone: 319-335-3810
Assistant Professor
Academic History:
  • - PhD in Economics, Northwestern University, 2012
  • - MA in Economics, Norhwestern University, 2007
  • - BA Honors in Economics, Mathematics, and Philosophy, University of Wisconsin - Madison, 2005

Lecturers


Stacey Brook Stacey Brook     stacey-brook@uiowa.edu
Office: W312 PBB    Phone: 319-335-1010
Lecturer
Academic History:
  • - PhD in Economics, Colorado State University, 1995
  • - MA in Economics, University of Nebraska-Lincoln, 1991
  • - BBA in Economics and Business Administration, Eastern New Mexico University, 1989
Expertise: Sports Economics
Jennifer Fuhrman Jennifer Fuhrman     jennifer-fuhrman@uiowa.edu
Office: S322 PBB    Phone: 319-335-0925
Lecturer
Academic History:
  • - MA in Economics, Miami University, Oxford, OH, 1998
  • - BA in International Studies, Miami University, Oxford, OH, 1997
Alexandra Nica Alexandra Nica     alexandra-nica@uiowa.edu
Office: W249 PBB    Phone: 319-335-2649
Lecturer
Academic History:
  • - PhD in Economics, Henry B. Tippie College of Business, The University of Iowa, 2013
  • - MA in Economics, Henry B. Tippie College of Business, The University of Iowa, 2002
  • - BA in International Business and Economics, University "Transilvania", Brasov, Romania, 1999
Expertise: Decision and Incentives Theory, Macroeconomics and International Trade
Blake Whitten Blake Whitten     blake-whitten@uiowa.edu
Office: S306 PBB    Phone: 319-335-0937
Lecturer
Academic History:
  • - PhD in Statistics, Florida State University, 2001
  • - MS in Statistics, University of Wisconsin, Madison, 1992
  • - MS in Mathematics, Northern Arizona University, 1985
  • - BS in Mathematics and Business Economics, Northern Arizona University, 1983
Expertise: EM algorithm, Markov random fields, MCMC simulation, Meta-analysis, Missing-data problems, Spatial and space-time statistics, Statistical computing

Adjunct and Visiting Faculty


Mariya Bobina Mariya Bobina     mariya-bobina@uiowa.edu
Office: W210 PBB    Phone: 319-335-0829
Adjunct Lecturer
Academic History:
  • - MA in Economics, University of Illinois, Chicago, IL, 2010
  • - PhD in International Economics, Russian Academy of Science, Moscow, Russia, 2002
  • - MA in Applied Mathematics, Moscow Institute of Electronics and Mathematics, 1993
  • - MA in Finance, Russian Plekhanov Economic Academy, Moscow, Russia, 1993
Barton Cramer Barton Cramer     barton-cramer@uiowa.edu
Office: 349 JH    Phone: 319-335-0829
Adjunct Assistant Professor, Economics and Urban and Regional Planning
Academic History:
  • - PhD in Economic Geography, The University of Iowa, 2007
  • - MA in Geography, The University of Iowa, 1999
  • - MS in Operations Research, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, 1966
  • - BS in Electrical Engineering, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, 1963
A'amer Farooqi A'amer Farooqi     aamer-farooqi@uiowa.edu
Office: W210 PBB    Phone: 319-335-0829
Adjunct Associate Professor
Academic History:
  • - PhD in Economics, University of Pittsburgh, 1988
  • - MA in Economics, University of Pittsburgh, 1987
  • - MA in Journalism, Ohio State University, 1977
  • - BA in Political Science, Denison University, 1976
Expertise: Economics of developing nations, Environmental issues and economic development, International trade and finance, Macro-economic theory and policy
Sarah Frank Sarah Frank     sarah-frank@uiowa.edu
Office: S362 PBB    Phone: 319-335-0504
Adjunct Assistant Professor
Academic History:
  • - PhD in Economics, University of California, Berkeley, California, 2009
  • - BA in Economics, Wellesley College, 1999
John Fuller John Fuller     john-w-fuller@uiowa.edu
Office: 340 JH    Phone: 319-335-0038
Professor, Urban and Regional Planning
Academic History:
  • - PhD in Economics, Washington State University, 1968
  • - AB in Economics, San Diego State University, 1962
Expertise: Finance and Regulation of Transport Sector, Transport Policy, Planning, and Analysis
Mary Knudson Mary Knudson     mary-knudson@uiowa.edu
Office: W359 PBB    Phone: 319-335-1907
Adjunct Assistant Professor
Academic History:
  • - PhD in Agricultural and Applied Economics, University of Minnesota, Twin Cities, 1988
  • - MS in Plant Breeding-Plant Genetics, University of Wisconsin-Madison, 1983
  • - BS in Agronomy, University of Minnesota-Twin Cities, 1981
Aaron Strong Aaron Strong     aaron-strong@uiowa.edu
Office: 334 JH    Phone: 319-335-2326
Assistant Professor, School of Urban & Regonal Planning and Public Policy Center
Academic History:
  • - PhD in Economics, University of Colorado, Boulder, 2004
  • - MA in Economics, University of Colorado, Boulder, 2001
  • - MS in Applied Mathematics, University of Colorado, Boulder, 1998
  • - BA in Mathematics, Luther College, Decorah, IA, 1996
Donald Szeszycki Donald Szeszycki     donald-szeszycki@uiowa.edu
Office: 315A CALH     Phone: 319-335-1543
Associate Vice President and Adjunct Lecturer
Academic History:
  • - MA in Economics, Northern Illinois University, DeKalb, 1980
  • - BA in Economics, Loras College, 1978
Expertise: Budgeting, Decision support system development, Information management, Operational analyses, Pricing analyses, Space planning, Strategic planning
George Wehby George Wehby     george-wehby@uiowa.edu
Office: N248 CPHB     Phone: 319-384-3814
Associate Professor, Department of Health Management and Policy, College of Public Health, and Department of Economics, Henry B. Tippie College of Business, and Research Associate, National Bureau of Economic Research
Academic History:
  • - PhD in Health Management and Policy/Health Economics Concentration, The University of Iowa, 2006
  • - MPH in Health Services Administration, American University of Beirut, Beirut, Lebanon, 2000
  • - BS in Biology, American University of Beirut, Beirut, Lebanon, 1998
Expertise: Health Economics, Applied Economics, Household Economics, Health Services Research, Health Policy
Armando Zavaleta Armando Zavaleta     armando-zavaleta@uiowa.edu
Office: W338 PBB    Phone: 319-335-1811
Visiting Assistant Professor
Academic History:
  • - PhD in Economics, University of Calgary, 2012
  • - MA in Economics, El Colegio de Mexico, 2001
  • - BA in Economics, National Autonomous University of Mexico, 1996
Expertise: Environmental Economics, Political Economy, Applied Game Theory, Energy Economics


Top