Finance

Faculty

Tenured and Tenure-Track Faculty


Rabah Amir Rabah Amir     rabah-amir@uiowa.edu
Office: W282 Building    Phone: 319-335-1230
Professor and Director, PhD Program in Economics
J. Edward Lundy Professor of Economics

Academic History:
  • - PhD in Economics, University of Illinois, Urbana, 1985
Expertise: Game Theory, Industrial Economics, Microeconomic Theory
Michael Andrews Michael Andrews     michael-j-andrews@uiowa.edu
Office: W247 Building    Phone: 319-335-1404
Graduate Teaching Assistant
Academic History:
  • - PhD Candidate in Economics, Tippie College of Business, University of Iowa, Iowa City, IA, USA, 2017
  • - BA in Economics, University of Maryland, College Park, MD, USA, 2011
  • - BS in Supply Chain Management, University of Maryland, College Park, MD, USA, 2011
Martin Basurto Arriaga Martin Basurto Arriaga     martinalberto-basurtoarriaga@uiowa.edu
Office: S216 Building    Phone: 319-335-0494
Graduate Teaching Assistant
Academic History:
  • - PhD Candidate in Economics, Tippie College of Business, University of Iowa, Iowa City, IA, USA, 2019
  • - MS in Economics, Centro de Investigacion y Docencia Economicas (CIDE), Mexico, 2014
  • - MS in Probability and Statistics, Centro de Investigacion en Matematicas (CIMAT), Mexico, 2012
  • - BS in Mathematics, Universidad de Guanajuato, Mexico, 2010
Cenk Cetin Cenk Cetin     cenk-cetin@uiowa.edu
Office: W379 Building    Phone: 319-335-2601
Graduate Teaching Assistant
Academic History:
  • - PhD Candidate in Economics, Tippie College of Business, University of Iowa, Iowa City, IA, USA, 2015
  • - MA in Economics, Tippie College of Business, University of Iowa, Iowa City, IA, USA, 2014
  • - BA Economics in Economics, Istanbul Bilgi University, Istanbul, Turkey, 2007
  • - BA Economics in Economics, London School of Economics and Political Science, University of London, London, UK, 2007
Liqiong Chen Liqiong Chen     liqiong-chen@uiowa.edu
Office: W383 Building    Phone: 319-335-3797
Graduate Teaching Assistant
Academic History:
  • - PhD Candidate in Economics, Tippie College of Business, University of Iowa, Iowa City, IA, USA, 2018
  • - MA in Mathematics, University of Toledo, Toledo, OH, USA, 2013
  • - BS in Mathematics and Applied Mathematics, Nankai University, Tianjin, China, 2011
Michael (Yu-Fai) Choi Michael (Yu-Fai) Choi     yufai-choi@uiowa.edu
Office: W336 Building    Phone: 319-384-1911
Assistant Professor
Academic History:
  • - PhD in Economics, University of Wisconsin-Madison, 2013
  • - MA in Economics, Boston University, 2007
  • - BE in Computer Engineering, Chinese University of Hong Kong, 2003
Expertise: Macroeconomics, Microeconomics, Monetary Economics, Search Theory
Chelsea Crain Chelsea Crain     chelsea-crain@uiowa.edu
Office: W247 Building    Phone: 319-335-1404
Graduate Teaching Assistant
Academic History:
  • - PhD Candidate in Economics, Tippie College of Business, University of Iowa, Iowa City, IA, USA, 2019
  • - BA in Mathematics, Coe College, Cedar Rapids, IA, USA, 2014
Lance Cundy Lance Cundy     lance-cundy@uiowa.edu
Office: S361 Building    Phone: 319-335-0983
Graduate Teaching Assistant
Academic History:
  • - PhD Candidate in Economics, Tippie College of Business, University of Iowa, Iowa City, IA, USA, 2019
  • - MS in Mathematics, South Dakota State University, Brookings, SD, USA, 2014
  • - BS in Civil Engineering, South Dakota State University, Brookings, SD, USA, 2012
  • - BS in Mathematics, South Dakota State University, Brookings, SD, USA, 2012
Yifan Dai Yifan Dai     yifan-dai-1@uiowa.edu
Office: S361 Building    Phone: 319-335-0983
Graduate Teaching Assistant
Academic History:
  • - MA in Economics, University of Arizona, Tucson, AZ, USA, 2012
  • - PhD Candidate in Economics, Tippie College of Business, University of Iowa, Iowa City, IA, USA, 2016
  • - BA in Economics, Shanghai Jiaotong University, Shanghai, China, 2011
Luciano De Castro Luciano De Castro     luciano-decastro@uiowa.edu
Office: W286 Building    Phone: 319-335-0963
Associate Professor
Henry B. Tippie Research Fellow

Academic History:
  • - PhD in Mathematical Economics, National Institute for Pure and Applied Mathematics (IMPA), Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, 2004
  • - MS in Mathematical Economics, National Institute for Pure and Applied Mathematics (IMPA), Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, 2001
  • - MBA, Getulio Vargas Foundation, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, 1999
  • - BA in Electronics Engineering, Technological Institute of Aeronautics (ITA), San Jose dos Campos, Brazil, 1995
David Enocksson David Enocksson     davidjohnmalte-enocksson@uiowa.edu
Office: W243 Building    Phone: 319-335-1403
Graduate Teaching Assistant
Academic History:
  • - PhD Candidate in Economics, Tippie College of Business, University of Iowa, Iowa City, IA, USA, 2019
  • - MS in Economics, Uppsala University, Uppsala, Sweden, 2014
  • - BS in Statistics, Uppsala University, Uppsala, Sweden, 2013
  • - BS in Economics, Uppsala University, Uppsala, Sweden, 2011
Caleb Floyd Caleb Floyd     caleb-floyd@uiowa.edu
Office: W383 Building    Phone: 319-335-3797
Graduate Teaching Assistant
Academic History:
  • - MA in Economics, Tippie College of Business, University of Iowa, Iowa City, IA, USA, 2014
  • - BS in Applied Mathematics, College of Natural and Applied Sciences, Missouri State University, Springfield, MO, USA, 2008
David Frisvold David Frisvold     david-frisvold@uiowa.edu
Office: W374 Building    Phone: 319-335-0957
Assistant Professor
Academic History:
  • - PhD in Economics, Vanderbilt University, 2006
  • - MA in Economics, Vanderbilt University, 2005
  • - BS in Mathematical Economics, Wake Forest University, 1998
Expertise: Economics of Education, Health Economics, Labor Economics, Public Economics
Antonio Galvao Antonio Galvao     antonio-galvao@uiowa.edu
Office: W284 Building    Phone: 319-335-1810
Associate Professor
Henry B. Tippie Research Fellow

Academic History:
  • - PhD in Economics, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign, 2009
  • - MS in Statistics, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign, 2007
  • - MA in Economics, Getulio Vargas Foundation, 2003
  • - BA in Economics, Federal University of Minas Gerais, 2001
Expertise: Applied Econometrics, Econometric Theory
Martin Gervais Martin Gervais     martin-gervais@uiowa.edu
Office: W384 Building    Phone: 319-335-2087
Associate Professor
Henry B. Tippie Research Fellow

Academic History:
  • - PhD in Economics, The University of Western Ontario, 1999
  • - MA in Economics, The University of Western Ontario, 1995
  • - MBA, Universite Laval, 1993
  • - BA in Accounting, Universite Laval, 1991
Expertise: Housing Economics, Labor Economics, Macroeconomics, Public Finance
Huiyi Guo Huiyi Guo     huiyi-guo@uiowa.edu
Office: W247 Building    Phone: 319-335-1404
Graduate Teaching Assistant
Academic History:
  • - PhD Candidate in Economics, Tippie College of Business, University of Iowa, Iowa City, IA, USA, 2017
  • - MA in Economics, Tippie College of Business, University of Iowa, Iowa City, IA, USA, 2014
  • - BA Economics in Mathematical Economics, School of Economics and Management, Wuhan University, Wuhan, Hubei, China, 2012
  • - BS in Mathematical Economics, School of Economics and Management, Wuhan University, Wuhan, Hubei, China, 2012
Wei He Wei He     wei-he-2@uiowa.edu
Office: W249 Building    Phone: 319-335-2649
Graduate Teaching Assistant
Academic History:
  • - PhD Candidate in Economics, Tippie College of Business, University of Iowa, Iowa City, IA, USA, 2016
  • - PhD in Mathematics, Faculty of Science, National University of Singapore, Singapore, Singapore, 2014
  • - BS in Mathematics, Faculty of Science, Peking University, Peking, China, 2010
Youn Soo Jung Youn Soo Jung     younsoo-jung@uiowa.edu
Office: S216 Building    Phone: 319-335-0494
Graduate Teaching Assistant
Academic History:
  • - PhD Candidate in Economics, Tippie College of Business, University of Iowa, Iowa City, IA, USA, 2017
  • - BS in Statistics and Economics, Ewha Womans University, Seoul, Republic of Korea, 2010
Sun Hyung Kim Sun Hyung Kim     sunhyung-kim@uiowa.edu
Office: W379 Building    Phone: 319-335-2601
Graduate Teaching Assistant
Academic History:
  • - PhD Candidate in Economics, Tippie College of Business, University of Iowa, Iowa City, IA, USA, 2017
  • - MA in Economics, Ewha Womans University, Seoul, South Korea, 2012
  • - BA in Economics, Ewha Womans University, Seoul, South Korea, 2010
Kyungmin Kim Kyungmin Kim     kyungmin-kim@uiowa.edu
Office: W382 Building    Phone: 319-335-0982
Assistant Professor
Academic History:
  • - PhD in Economics, University of Pennsylvania, 2009
  • - BA in Economics, Seoul National University, Korea, 2004
Expertise: Applied Economic Theory, Game Theory
Chander Kochar Chander Kochar     chandershekhar-kochar@uiowa.edu
Office: W379 Building    Phone: 319-335-2601
Graduate Teaching Assistant
Academic History:
  • - PhD Candidate in Economics, Tippie College of Business, University of Iowa, Iowa City, IA, USA, 2016
  • - MS in Applied Economics, College of Agriculture and Life Sciences, University of Arizona, Tucson, AZ, USA, 2010
  • - ME in Computer Engineering, College of Engineering, University of Arizona, Tucson, AZ, USA, 2008
  • - BTech in Electronics, School of Engineering, Motilal Nehru National Institute of Technology, Allahabad, Uttar Pradesh, Ind, 2005
Seyma Kurk Seyma Kurk     seyma-kurk@uiowa.edu
Office: S321 Building    Phone: 319-335-0975
Graduate Teaching Assistant
Academic History:
  • - PhD Candidate in Economics, Tippie College of Business, University of Iowa, Iowa City, IA, USA, 2019
  • - BS in Mathematics, Yildiz Technical University, Istanbul, Turkey, 2011
Emily Leslie Emily Leslie     emily-leslie@uiowa.edu
Office: W383 Building    Phone: 319-335-3797
Graduate Teaching Assistant
Academic History:
  • - PhD Candidate in Economics, Tippie College of Business, University of Iowa, Iowa City, IA, USA, 2016
  • - MA in Economics, Tippie College of Business, University of Iowa, Iowa City, IA, USA, 2013
  • - BA Economics in Economics, Brigham Young University, Provo, UT, USA, 2011
Lianjun Li Lianjun Li     lianjun-li@uiowa.edu
Office: W249 Building    Phone: 319-335-2649
Graduate Teaching Assistant
Academic History:
  • - PhD Candidate in Economics, Tippie College of Business, University of Iowa, Iowa City, IA, USA, 2018
  • - BA in Economics, University of Maryland, College Park, MD, USA, 2013
  • - BS in Mathematics, University of Maryland, College Park, MD, USA, 2013
Huizhong Liu Huizhong Liu     huizhong-liu@uiowa.edu
Office: W379 Building    Phone: 319-335-2601
Graduate Teaching Assistant
Academic History:
  • - PhD Candidate in Economics, Tippie College of Business, University of Iowa, Iowa City, IA, USA, 2018
  • - BS in Mathematics, Wuhan University, Wuhan, China, 2013
  • - BA Economics in Economics, Wuhan University, Wuhan, China, 2013
Fan Liu Fan Liu     fan-liu-1@uiowa.edu
Office: W243 Building    Phone: 319-335-1403
Graduate Teaching Assistant
Academic History:
  • - PhD Candidate in Economics, Tippie College of Business, University of Iowa, Iowa City, IA, USA, 2016
  • - MA in Economics, University of Iowa, 2013
  • - BS in Economics, Emporia State University, 2010
Lev Lvovskiy Lev Lvovskiy     lev-lvovskiy@uiowa.edu
Office: W249 Building    Phone: 319-335-2649
Graduate Teaching Assistant
Academic History:
  • - PhD Candidate in Economics, Tippie College of Business, University of Iowa, Iowa City, IA, USA, 2016
  • - MA in Mathematics & Economics, Perm National Research Polytechnic University, Perm, Russia, 2012
  • - BA Honors in Mathematics, Perm National Research Polytechnic University, Perm, Russia, 2010
Olgu Ozkul Olgu Ozkul     olgu-ozkul@uiowa.edu
Office: S361 Building    Phone: 319-335-0983
Graduate Teaching Assistant
Academic History:
  • - PhD Candidate in Economics, Tippie College of Business, University of Iowa, Iowa City, IA, USA, 2019
  • - MS in Economics, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, Champaign, IL, USA, 2014
  • - BS in Econometrics, Dokuz Eylul University, Izmir,Turkey, 2010
Marilyn Pease Marilyn Pease     marilyn-pease@uiowa.edu
Office: W243 Building    Phone: 319-335-1403
Graduate Teaching Assistant
Academic History:
  • - PhD Candidate in Economics, Tippie College of Business, University of Iowa, Iowa City, IA, USA, 2016
  • - MA in Economics, University of Iowa, 2013
  • - BA in Mathematical Economics, Colorado College, 2010
Alexandre Poirier Alexandre Poirier     alexandre-poirier@uiowa.edu
Office: W378 Building    Phone: 319-335-3811
Assistant Professor
Academic History:
  • - PhD in Economics, University of California, Berkeley, 2013
  • - MA in Statistics, University of California, Berkeley, 2011
  • - BSc in Mathematics and Economics, Université de Montréal, 2007
Expertise: Applied Econometrics, Econometric Theory
Ryan Rudderham Ryan Rudderham     ryan-rudderham@uiowa.edu
Office: S321 Building    Phone: 319-335-0975
Graduate Teaching Assistant
Academic History:
  • - PhD Candidate in Economics, Tippie College of Business, University of Iowa, Iowa City, IA, USA, 2019
  • - BA in Economics, University of Florida, Gainesville, FL, USA, 2013
  • - AA in General Studies, St. Petersburg College, St. Petersburg, FL, USA, 2011
Alice Schoonbroodt Alice Schoonbroodt     alice-schoonbroodt@uiowa.edu
Office: W334 Building    Phone: 319-335-0915
Assistant Professor
Academic History:
  • - PhD in Economics, University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, MN, 2006
  • - MA in Economics, McGill University, Montreal, Canada, 2000
  • - BA in Economics, Universite Catholique de Louvain, LLN, Belgium, 1999
Expertise: Macroeconomics, Demographic Economics, Family Economics, Growth & Development
John Solow John Solow     john-solow@uiowa.edu
Office: W210 Building    Phone: 319-335-0845
Professor and Departmental Executive Officer
Justice International Business Research Fellow

Academic History:
  • - PhD in Economics, Stanford University, 1983
  • - MA in Economics, Stanford University, 1981
  • - BA in Economics, Yale University, 1976
Expertise: Antitrust, Industrial Organization, Law and Economics, Sports Economics
Suyong Song Suyong Song     suyong-song@uiowa.edu
Office: W360 Building    Phone: 319-335-0832
Assistant Professor
Academic History:
  • - PhD in Economics, University of California, San Diego, CA, 2010
  • - in C.Phil in Economics, University of California, San Diego, CA, 2008
  • - MA in Economics, Korea University, Seoul, South Korea, 2004
  • - BA in Economics, Korea University, Seoul, South Korea, 2002
Expertise: Econometrics, Empirical Industrial Organization, Applied
Anne Villamil Anne Villamil     anne-villamil@uiowa.edu
Office: W354 Building    Phone: 319-335-3944
Professor
Henry B. Tippie Research Fellow

Academic History:
  • - PhD in Economics, University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, MN, 1988
  • - BA in Economics, University of Rochester, Rochester, NY, 1980

Lecturers


Stacey Brook Stacey Brook     stacey-brook@uiowa.edu
Office: W312 Building    Phone: 319-335-1010
Lecturer and Director, Economics Undergraduate Program
Academic History:
  • - PhD in Economics, Colorado State University, 1995
  • - MA in Economics, University of Nebraska-Lincoln, 1991
  • - BBA in Economics and Business Administration, Eastern New Mexico University, 1989
Expertise: Sports Economics
Jennifer Fuhrman Jennifer Fuhrman     jennifer-fuhrman@uiowa.edu
Office: S322 Building    Phone: 319-335-0925
Lecturer
Academic History:
  • - MA in Economics, Miami University, Oxford, OH, 1998
  • - BA in International Studies, Miami University, Oxford, OH, 1997
Alexandra Nica Alexandra Nica     alexandra-nica@uiowa.edu
Office: C352 Building    Phone: 319-335-0869
Lecturer
Academic History:
  • - PhD in Economics, Henry B. Tippie College of Business, The University of Iowa, 2013
  • - MA in Economics, Henry B. Tippie College of Business, The University of Iowa, 2002
  • - BA in International Business and Economics, University "Transilvania", Brasov, Romania, 1999
Expertise: Decision and Incentives Theory, Macroeconomics and International Trade

Adjunct and Visiting Faculty


Barton Cramer Barton Cramer     barton-cramer@uiowa.edu
Office: 349 Hall    Phone: 319-335-0829
Adjunct Assistant Professor, Economics and Urban and Regional Planning
Academic History:
  • - PhD in Economic Geography, The University of Iowa, 2007
  • - MA in Geography, The University of Iowa, 1999
  • - MS in Operations Research, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, 1966
  • - BS in Electrical Engineering, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, 1963
Philip Erickson Philip Erickson     philip-erickson@uiowa.edu
Office: W243 Building    Phone: 319-335-1403
Graduate Fellow
Academic History:
  • - PhD Candidate in Economics, Tippie College of Business, University of Iowa, Iowa City, IA, USA, 2016
  • - MA in Economics, Tippie College of Business, University of Iowa, Iowa City, IA, USA, 2012
  • - BA in Economics, College of Family, Home, and Social Sciences, Brigham Young University, Provo, UT, USA, 2010
Expertise: Industrial Organization
A'amer Farooqi A'amer Farooqi     aamer-farooqi@uiowa.edu
Office: W210 Building    Phone: 319-335-0829
Adjunct Associate Professor
Academic History:
  • - PhD in Economics, University of Pittsburgh, 1988
  • - MA in Economics, University of Pittsburgh, 1987
  • - MA in Journalism, Ohio State University, 1977
  • - BA in Political Science, Denison University, 1976
Expertise: Economics of developing nations, Environmental issues and economic development, International trade and finance, Macro-economic theory and policy
Sarah Frank Sarah Frank     sarah-frank@uiowa.edu
Office: S362 Building    Phone: 319-335-0504
Adjunct Assistant Professor
Academic History:
  • - PhD in Economics, University of California, Berkeley, California, 2009
  • - BA in Economics, Wellesley College, 1999
John Fuller John Fuller     john-w-fuller@uiowa.edu
Office: 340 Hall    Phone: 319-335-0038
Professor, Urban and Regional Planning
Academic History:
  • - PhD in Economics, Washington State University, 1968
  • - AB in Economics, San Diego State University, 1962
Expertise: Finance and Regulation of Transport Sector, Transport Policy, Planning, and Analysis
Mary Knudson Mary Knudson     mary-knudson@uiowa.edu
Office: W359 Building    Phone: 319-335-1907
Adjunct Assistant Professor
Academic History:
  • - PhD in Agricultural and Applied Economics, University of Minnesota, Twin Cities, 1988
  • - MS in Plant Breeding-Plant Genetics, University of Wisconsin-Madison, 1983
  • - BS in Agronomy, University of Minnesota-Twin Cities, 1981
Steven Stong Steven Stong     steven-stong@uiowa.edu
Office: S316 Building    Phone: 319-335-3756

Expertise: Economic theory, public choice, game theory, information economics
Donald Szeszycki Donald Szeszycki     donald-szeszycki@uiowa.edu
Office: 315A CALH     Phone: 319-335-1543
Associate Vice President, Office of the Provost, and Adjunct Lecturer
Academic History:
  • - MA in Economics, Northern Illinois University, DeKalb, 1980
  • - BA in Economics, Loras College, 1978
Expertise: Budgeting, Decision support system development, Information management, Operational analyses, Pricing analyses, Space planning, Strategic planning
Hennadige Thenuwara Hennadige Thenuwara     hennadige-thenuwara@uiowa.edu
Office: W338 Building    Phone: 319-335-1811
Adjunct Assistant Professor
Academic History:
  • - PhD in Economics, The University of Iowa, 1997
  • - MA in Econometrics, University of Manchester, UK, 1988
  • - MSc in Applied Statistics, University of Colombo, Sri Lanka, 1984
  • - BSc in Physics, Pure Mathematics, and Industrial Management, University of Kelaniya, Sri Lanka, 1980


Top