Edith Ennis Award

Submit a nomination
for the Edith Ennis Award
Edith Ennis

Edith Ennis (1919-1996) was a member of the College of Business faculty for more than 31 years, beginning her career as an assistant professor in 1954. In this period of time, she accomplished many things including being an outstanding professor in the Department of Business Education, a dedicated member of the Undergraduate Academic Advising Center team, a supportive adviser for the Phi Gamma Nu professional business fraternity, an author and editor, and an active member of several professional societies, including Delta Pi Epsilon, Pi Omega Pi, and the Iowa Business Education Association.

Edith's warmth, helpfulness, and generosity with her time and talents are special qualities that deserve recognition. The creation of this award acknowledges Edith's professional qualities in an ongoing tribute to her. This award is designed to promote good rapport and regular interaction among the college's students, faculty, and staff.

The Edith Ennis Award Fund, established in 1985 by her associates and former students, is an endowed fund set up through the University of Iowa Foundation for the Henry B. Tippie College of Business. Income from the fund is used as an annual award to a staff or faculty member in the college who best exemplifies Professor Ennis' characteristics and ideals as a fine educator and adviser devoted to students.

Guiding Principles:
The Edith Ennis Award is based on the following criteria:

  1. A selfless commitment to the college, its constituents, and its mission;
  2. Accessibility;
  3. Optimism and cheerfulness; and
  4. Teaching/service effectiveness.

A selection committee will be compiled containing one ESC member, a Tippie staff member, and EFC member, as chosen by ESC.

Selection Process:
Each nomination packet must include

  1.  a nomination form,
  2. a letter/statement from the nominator, and
  3. A minimum of two letters of recommendation (strong recommendations will include letters from multiple departments). 
  4. Your total submission should include a minimum of four pieces of information (a nomination form, a letter from the nominator and a minimum of two from other recommenders).

Award winners are determined based on the rubric.  To ensure each candidate receives equal consideration, rankings will be based entirely on the (minimum) two letters of recommendations addressing the four criteria.  Incomplete nominations will not be considered.

The selection committee will notify ESC of the award winner.  ESC will then notify the nominator that an award will be presented based off of their recommendation to ensure that the winner is present for the award ceremony.  ESC will provide snippets of the letters of recommendation for the Dean to read and announce the award.  The Dean will sign an award certificate for the winner. 

Past recipients of the award are:

2013 - Rich McCarty
2012 - Shari Piekarski
2011 - Melissa Baker & Gary Fethke
2010 - Bev Berg
2009 - Warren Boe
2008 - Jane Schildroth
2007 - Joyce Berg
2006 - Jessica Renaud and Renea Jay
2005 - Vicki Metz
2004 - Carolyn Stoddard
2003 - Dave Martin
2002 - Linda Knowling
2001 - Maggie Jesse
2000 - Gary Gaeth and Kathie Decker
1999 - Colleen Downie
1998 - Joyce Ruplinger
1993 - Chris Quinn Trank
1986 - Vi Kuebler
1985 - Phyllis Irwin