About Tippie

Oscar C. Schmidt Iowa Business Leadership Award

Past Winners

Year Name Position Company
2010 Steve Rasmussen and the Nationwide/Allied Insurance Leadership Team CEO Nationwide/Allied Insurance
2007 W.A. (Bill) Krause Chair and CEO Krause Gentle
2006 Pella Corporation Leadership Team Pella Corporation
2005 Lee Enterprises Leadership Team Lee Enterprises
2004 Tom W. Bedell President and Chairman of the Board Pure Fishing
2003 J. Barry Griswell Chairman, President, and CEO The Principal Financial Group
2002 Marjorie M. Scardino Chief Executive Pearson plc
2001 Donald R. Keough Chairman of the Board
President (retired)
Allen Company
Coca-Cola Company
2000 Clayton M. Jones President Rockwell Collins
1999 Clark E. McLeod Chairman and CEO McLeodUSA
1998 Stanley J. Bright Chairman and CEO MidAmerican Energy Co.
1997 William T. Kerr Chairman, President and CEO Meredith Corporation
1996 Theodore W. (Ted) Waitt Chairman and CEO Gateway 2000
1995 Leonard A. Hadley Chairman and CEO Maytag Corporation
1994 Ronald D. Pearson President and CEO Hy-Vee Food Stores Inc.
1992 John Pappajohn President Equity Dynamics Inc.
1990 Henry J. Meyer Senior V.P. and Group Executive
Chairman and CEO
Raytheon Company Appliance Group
Amana Refrigeration Inc.
1989 Robert A. Hanson Chairman Deere & Company
1988 Richard C. Kautz Chairman Grain Processing Corporation
1987 James L. Churchill President Rockwell International Avionics Group
1986 Stanley M. Howe President and CEO HON INDUSTRIES Inc.
1985 Alex A. Meyer Chairman Amana Refrigeration Inc.
1984 Robert N. Houser Chairman and CEO Bankers Life
1983 Daniel J. Krumm President and CEO Maytag Company
1982 Ivan O. Bull Senior Partner McGladrey, Hendrickson, & Pullen
1981 Marvin A. Pomerantz President Mid-America Group
1980 C. Maxwell Stanley Chairman of the Board HON INDUSTRIES Inc.