Management and Organizations

Meet Our Faculty

Amy and sons

Amy Colbert

What are your research areas? Most of my research is in the area of leadership. I study how leaders impact and influence others within business organizations. I am especially interested in how leaders influence the degree to which work is seen as meaningful, fulfilling, and positive, and the impact that such work experiences have on employee motivation and well-being. I've also recently begun investigating the role that other types of work relationships play in influencing employee well-being.

Did you work in industry before teaching? Before becoming a professor, I worked as a public accountant and an internal auditor. My undergraduate majors were accounting and math, and I have a master's degree in decision sciences.

What do you love most about the University of Iowa or living in Iowa? I'm a Midwest girl, and I love that Iowa City combines Midwest friendliness with good restaurants, coffeeshops, and bookstores!

What are your hobbies or what do you like to do on weekends? As those of you who have taken my classes know, I spend a lot of my time at youth sports. My two sons play baseball, soccer, and basketball. In my free time, I like to hike and travel, and I'll read just about anything that's put in front of me (see below).

Do you have children? I have two sons. Ben is 12 years old, and Matt is 9 years old. In addition to youth sports, they also play piano, guitar, and tenor saxophone. They like to travel, too.

Do you have pets? Only fish—we are allergic to just about everything, and I can't bring myself to welcome a snake or lizard into my home.

What are some of your favorite books? I read pretty widely, and my favorite books change quickly. To Kill a Mockingbird is one of my all-time favorites. And here are a few books that I've enjoyed recently:

Flight Behavior by Barbara Kingsolver
Telegraph Avenue by Michael Chabon
Running the Rift by Naomi Benaron
The Chaperone by Laura Moriarty
Behind the Beautiful Forevers by Katherine Boo

What are some of your favorite movies? Casablanca, Ferris Bueller's Day Off, Love Actually, Remember the Titans, and The American President.

Where were you born? Where have you lived besides Iowa? I was born in Louisiana, Mo., a small town in northeast Missouri. I grew up on a farm near Frankford, Mo., and moved to St. Louis after graduating from college. I came to the University of Iowa for graduate school. I moved to South Bend, Ind., for my first job, and now I am happy to be back in Iowa City.