News & Events

Press Releases

  • Kent Hasselquist: From Tippie Graduate to United States Marine (04/12/2016)

    Tippie graduate Kent HasselquistFor most college students, crossing the finish line to graduation means applying to jobs, conducting interviews and landing that first full-time gig. For Tippie graduate Kent Hasselquist, that routine post-college path wasn’t for him.

  • Some mutual funds aren't so mutually beneficial (04/12/2016)

    Mutual-fund investors are losing hundreds of millions of dollars in annual returns because of a potential conflict of interest in their fund’s management they probably don’t even know about, according to a newly published paper by a University of Iowa researcher.

  • Giving a Jump to Electric Cars (04/04/2016)

    Alliant Energy wants more drivers to consider buying electric vehicles as a way to decrease greenhouse-gas emissions and is turning to business students at the University of Iowa and other Iowa universities for help.

  • Some Light Reading (03/21/2016)

    Hamburger and friesA University of Iowa economist is studying how obesity rates are affected in communities where restaurants publish the calorie counts of the food they serve, an effort that is part of a broader campaign to reduce the number of Americans who are overweight.

  • Environmental Journalist to Discuss Marketability & Sustainability (03/17/2016)

    Simran Sethi, a journalist and sustainability educatorSimran Sethi, one of the world’s most inspiring environmental messengers, will lead a panel discussing the pork supply chain including marketability, sustainability, and changing the food system. The panel discussion,"Hog Farming, Sustainability, and a Tale of Delicious Bacon," will take place on Wednesday, April 27 at 5:30 p.m. in W10 Pappajohn Business Building. 

  • All Signs Points Toward Growth (03/07/2016)

    Lecturer Dimy Doresca, Hassan Alsaeed, ASI Signage's Michael McKeagA Grinnell-based sign company is looking to expand its market outside the United States and sell its products in the Middle East, thanks to the work of a group of University of Iowa students.

  • Tippie MBA Team Wins ACG Cup (02/22/2016)

    A team of Tippie MBA students recently won top prize at the Association of Corporate Growth (ACG) Cup case study competition at the University of St. Thomas in Minneapolis. This is the second year in a row a Tippie team has taken home the trophy. The ACG Cup competition gives students from leading MBA programs across the country real-world experience and invaluable insights into mergers and acquisitions, investment banking, financial advisory and private equity. The winning team included Stuart Hemesath, Amit Ashok and Lisa Ferguson.

  • A Tale of True Tippie Love (02/15/2016)

    While sharing the story of their relationship, Andy Zajicek made several jokes about being thrown under the bus by his wife, Mary Beth Zajicek.

  • Predicting Box Office Boffo or Bomb (02/10/2016)

    With its $200 million budget, Batman v. Superman: Dawn of Justice will be one of the most expensive movies ever made when it’s released next month, and Warner Bros. has a lot riding on its success.

  • Love Business (02/10/2016)

    Casey Harris and Joseph Jay, alumni of TippieTaking a business class does not generally incite a romantic environment; however, for Joseph Jay and Casey Harris, it was the perfect place to catch each other’s attention.

  • Anheuser-Busch Executive Shares Successes in Sustainability (02/04/2016)

    Bert Share, former Global Director, Anheuser-BuschHugh "Bert" Share, former senior global director of Beer & Better World at Anheuser-Busch InBev, will visit the University of Iowa to discuss his 33 years of experience working in the area of sustainability for the world's largest brewer. The executive will be speaking on Wednesday, February 17, at 5 p.m. in MacBride Hall. The event is free and open to the public.