News & Events

Tippie Student Receives Achievement Award

Parker ValdezTippie senior Parker Valdez is one of three students from across the Iowa regents institutions to receive an Alliant Energy/Erroll B. Davis Jr. Achievement Award. He will be recognized at the annual Diversity Catalyst Awards reception in April 2014. The award recognizes students’ academic achievement in business or engineering, leadership in campus and community organizations, and potential for future success.

Valdez, a senior pursuing a dual degree in business (accounting and management) and liberal arts and sciences (Spanish), is from Cedar Rapids. This past year, Valdez served as president of the Business Student Ambassador Organization. The group provides information and assistance to visiting groups, facilitates student recruitment activities, and provides answers to questions from prospective students and their families at college events and tours. He is also a member of Delta Sigma Pi business fraternity and a member of the Iowa men’s volleyball team.

In 2012, Valdez was named to Tippie’s 21 Under 21 program, which recognizes 21 of the college’s outstanding student leaders under the age of 21. In 2011, he was a member of the Tippie team that participated in the Deloitte Central Region Audit Case Competition held in Chicago. Valdez has studied abroad in Bilbao, Spain, for a summer as well as interned at King-eClient during a semester in Barcelona. He also started PV Lawn, which provides lawn care services to residential properties in the Cedar Rapids metro area.

The award was created by Alliant to honor Erroll B. Davis Jr., former CEO and president of Alliant Energy Corporation, for his nearly 30 years of service to the utility industry. It also honors and recognizes the importance of scholarship and leadership by underrepresented minority students in the state of Iowa. Students must be from an underrepresented group in the fields of business or engineering. Students at each of the three regents universities—the University of Iowa, the University of Northern Iowa, and Iowa State University—are eligible for the award.

Return to top of page