News & Events

Departments Honor Student Achievers

At the end of each academic year, students throughout the University are recognized for their accomplishments. Several academic departments within the Tippie College of Business honored students who deserved special recognition.

Marketing PhD student Robert Rowenhorst and MBA student Robert Hillman shared the M. Bhanu Murthy Memorial Prize for Excellence in Teaching from the Department of Marketing. This prize memorializes the late M. Bhanu Murthy, a student who died of leukemia in 1983 while in the marketing doctoral program, and has been awarded annually since 1984.

Seven students within the Economics Department were chosen to receive awards in honor of their academic efforts. They included: Cheryl Davenport, who won the Max O. Lorenz Award; Nick Brown, who won the Howard Bowen Award; and Andrew Thomas who won the Frank Knight Award. Faculty commendation awards were also awarded to Andrew Holm, Evan Herrnstadt, Greg Pabich, and Jon Landon.

The Department of Management and Organizations presented awards to two outstanding students to recognize their hard work and accomplishments. Nathan D. Jackson, Cedar Rapids, received the Management and Organizations Leadership Award, while Melanie J. Burns was given the Outstanding MBA Student Leadership Award.

The Spring Awards Banquet provides the setting for a number of awards granted by the Department of Accounting. This year, Melissa A. Winkler received the Outstanding Accounting Senior Award, while Svetlana V. Goubanova received the Outstanding Accounting Junior Award, and Kimberly J. Semsar was named outstanding Master of Accounting student

Bradford F. Hepfer, Stephanie M. Andersen and received the Outstanding Achievement in Writing Award for juniors and seniors, respectively. Tom and Patrice Carroll are the sponsors of the junior award, while Deere and Company sponsors the senior award. Amber R. Schwickerath won the Writing Award for a Master of Accountancy, sponsored by Deere and Company.

Jade M. Vidal and Samantha J. Ternes received Byron R. Ross Awards for Teaching Excellence (for Teaching Assistants) from the Department of Accounting. The endowed awards were established to recognize Byron R. Ross who, following his retirement from McGladrey & Pullen, served as an adjunct professor in the Department of Accounting for a number of years. The awards are based on the winners' strong commitment to education, as evidenced by teaching evaluations, pedagogical innovations and good citizenship.

Brad A. Badertscher received the Mary L. Collins Doctoral Fellowship in Accounting, given in memory of the wife of Professor Daniel W. Collins, Henry B. Tippie Research Chair in Accounting, and in recognition of outstanding participation in accounting research workshops. In addition, an Outstanding Alumnus Award was presented to David F. Licko of the Indianapolis Star, BBA 1969.

Twelve 2004-2005 Accounting Faculty Scholars were also honored. They were: Jennifer L. Fassbinder, Anne Fulton, Michael V. Goedken, Nolan B. Haskovec, Jason Less, Julie Ann Revell, Christopher Rogers, Kristen Shaffer, Adam Christopher Shatek, Amber Lynne Simon, Melissa A. Winkler and Qing Zhou.

Accounting lecturer Mary Murphy was also honored at the Accounting Spring Awards Banquet. Murphy, who teaches business law, received the Gilbert P. Maynard Excellence in Accounting Instruction Award. The prizes is named after former accounting faculty member Gilbert P. Maynard, and is designed to foster proficiency and dedication of accounting faculty toward academic instruction. The award was started in 1982 by Sheldon (BSC54) and Roselind Rabinowitz of Des Moines.

Return to top of page