News & Events

2006 University Honors Program Scholarship Winners Announced

The University of Iowa Honors Program honored its scholarship and award winners at its spring Honors Recognition Ceremony April 23.

In attendance were deans and directors from all undergraduate colleges. Honors Program Director John Nelson presided over the ceremony; Christopher Merrill, director of the UI's International Writing Program, provided opening remarks; and Lauren McCarthy spoke on behalf of the students.

The following scholarships and awards were given.

Rhodes Dunlap Scholarships

Established through a bequest of Samuel Rhodes Dunlap, founder of the Honors Program, Rhodes Dunlap Scholarships recognize the outstanding academic achievement of undergraduates in the University Honors Program.

  • Rhodes Dunlap First-Year Awards

    Erin Cavanagh, from Bettendorf, Iowa, is a Presidential Scholar who is majoring in finance and political science and minoring in Spanish. She is the academics chair of Delta Zeta Sorority and the vice president of Publicity in Organized Stanley and Currier Associated Residents.

  • Collegiate Rhodes Dunlap Scholarships

    Aruna Mittal, from Coralville, Iowa, is majoring in accounting and finance and is minoring in psychology. Aruna's main interests are in volunteering abroad. She has served for years as an accountant for a charitable foundation in India. After college, Aruna would like to volunteer full-time with this organization in order to help poor individuals.

    Chuck Mersch, from Cedar Rapids, Iowa, is majoring in management information systems with a minor in computer science. He will be doing an internship with Ernst & Young this summer and will be writing his honors thesis this fall.

Collegiate Scholar Awards

The collegiate scholar awards are granted to a select group of graduating seniors based on outstanding academic accomplishment and contribution to the university.

Michael Denklau, from Blue Grass, Iowa, is completing a BBA in finance and a bachelor of science degree in political science with an emphasis in international relations. His honors thesis examines the influence of political advertisements on the outcome of the presidential race. Michael is also the President of Alpha Kappa Psi, Professional Business Fraternity and has been Treasurer of Golden Key International Honors Society. He spent last spring studying at Bogazici University In Istanbul, Turkey, and is planning to backpack in Europe after graduation. In July Michael begins work as an investment banking analyst for Lehman Brothers in New York City.

Jonathan Landon, from Pella, Iowa, is a double major in economics and philosophy, and is also pursuing the PEOPLE certificate. He is a member of the University of Iowa men's swimming team. His economics honors thesis studies the economic impact of education as it relates to human capital. In May, Jonathan will begin working full time at AEGON as an actuarial tech.

Lindsey Reighard, a Presidential Scholar from Marion, Iowa, is earning a bachelor of business administration degree in marketing. As an undergraduate, she worked on several research articles in the area of sexual harassment and presented that work at the Research in the Capitol event sponsored by the Honors Program. Lindsey will begin law school this fall at the University of Iowa.

Jason Van Zant is from Burlington, Iowa. A Hawkinson student in the College of Business, he is majoring in finance.

Return to top of page