News & Events

Tippie Undergraduate Wins Hancher/Finkbine Student Medallion

The University of Iowa honored several outstanding students, faculty, and an alumnus on Tuesday, April 17, at the 90th anniversary Finkbine Dinner for Representative Student Leaders, one of the university's most prestigious award ceremonies.

Nancy Hauserman, professor of management and organizations and a 1996 recipient of the Faculty Hancher Finkbine Medallion, emceed this year's dinner, which was held at the Iowa Memorial Union. Interim UI President Gary Fethke presented the awards.

The event began in 1917 to honor campus leaders and give them an opportunity to meet administrators, faculty, fellow students and alumni. The dinner is named after William O. Finkbine, a Des Moines businessman and 1880 UI law graduate.

In addition, several awards were presented for student and faculty excellence.

The tradition of awarding Hancher-Finkbine medallions began in 1964. The awards, which recognize outstanding leadership, learning and loyalty, are named after Finkbine and Virgil M. Hancher, who served as president of the UI from 1940 to 1964. Nominations for the student awards are solicited from recognized student organizations and collegiate deans.

UITV will broadcast the dinner at a later time. Check listings for day and time.

The winners of this year's Hancher/Finkbine Undergraduate Student Medallion include: Thomas Niblock, Nevada, Iowa.

Niblock is a senior economics and religious studies major. His many awards and honors include the Excellence in Undergraduate Research Award, the Rhodes-Dunlap Collegiate Scholarship, the Murray Undergraduate Scholarship and the prestigious Thomas R. Pickering Foreign Affairs Fellowship, awarded to only 20 students nationwide. He has been an active member of the Tippie College of Business Leadership Council and the Tippie College of Business President's Council, UI Student Government and the Association of Big Ten Schools. He currently works in the University Honors Program and trains college tour guides through the Business Student Ambassador Organization. He was recognized this year with a Hawkeye Marching Band Four Year Service Award.

Return to top of page