News & Events

Faculty Recognized for Accomplishments in the Classroom

A teacher's toughest critics are frequently his/her students and peers. That's why it's such an honor when teachers are recognized for their accomplishments in the classroom by student organizations or peer groups. This spring, several faculty members at the Henry B. Tippie College of Business received such recognition.

Robert Forsythe received one the greatest forms of recognition that a faculty member can earn in the State of Iowa, a 2002 Regents Award for Faculty Excellence. In addition, David Collins was presented with the Students Choice Award for Faculty Excellence from the Undergraduate Leadership Council; Sam Burer received the 2002 Outstanding Faculty Award from Delta Sigma Pi; Sonja Olhoft Rego received the Gilbert P. Maynard Excellence in Accounting Instruction Award; and Charles Whiteman received the Professional Excellence in Teaching Economics (PETE) Award.

The Regents Award for Faculty Excellence is given annually to faculty members at the Regents institutions whose work represents significant contributions to excellence in public education. Recipients must have a sustained record of excellence across the spectrum of faculty endeavors including teaching, scholarship, and service.

Forsythe is the senior associate dean of the Tippie College of Business and the Leonard A. Hadley Chair in Leadership. He joined the Economics faculty of the College in 1981 and served as chairman of the Economics Department from 1990-1994 before being named senior associate dean in 1994. He served as the president of the Economic Science Association from 1993 to 1995, and since 1997 has been associate editor of the Journal of Experimental Economics. He is an accomplished researcher and has been published extensively. He is a co-founder of the Iowa Political Stock Market, which has evolved into the internationally acclaimed Iowa Electronic Markets (IEM).

The Tippie College of Business Undergraduate Leadership Council recognized David Collins with the Students Choice Award for Faculty Excellence. Presented on behalf of the students of the College, this award is intended to recognize an instructor in the Tippie College of Business who displays teaching qualities that students admire. Collins, a lecturer in the Marketing Department, comes to teaching with extensive professional experience. His work in marketing for Amana Refrigeration, paired with his work as a consultant with Stamats, Decisionmark, and IES Utilities, allows him to teach introductory marketing courses and those that focus on database and direct marketing strategies.

Delta Sigma Pi recognized assistant professor Sam Burer with the 2002 Outstanding Faculty Award. Delta Sigma Pi is a professional business fraternity that strives to develop its members into student leaders and business professionals that will excel in the workplace. Burer is in his first year of teaching in The University of Iowa's Department of Management Sciences. While completing his PhD from Georgia Institute of Technology, Burer was a presidential fellow, and as an undergraduate at the University of Georgia, he was the recipient of the Strahan Mathematics Award.

Sonja Olhoft Rego received the Gilbert P. Maynard Excellence in Accounting Instruction Award. The award is presented at the annual banquet held by Beta Alpha Psi, the College's accounting fraternity. The award is named after former accounting faculty member Gilbert P. Maynard, and is designed to foster proficiency and dedication of accounting faculty toward academic instruction. It was started in 1982 by Sheldon (BSC54) and Roselind Rabinowitz. Rego has been an assistant professor in the UI Accounting Department since 1999. Much of her research focuses on the impact of taxation on business decisions, the trade-off between earnings management and tax avoidance, and international taxation.

This is the second time that Charles Whiteman has received the Professional Excellence in Teaching Economics (PETE) Award having previously won the award in 1986. The award is given annually by graduate students in the UI Department of Economics to a faculty member for "professional excellence in the training of economists." Whiteman has been teaching in the Economics Department since 1980. He is currently the Pioneer Hi-Bred Professor of Financial Economics. Previously, he has also served as chair of the department and as Director of the Institute for Economic Research. While directing the Institute, he served as chair of the governor's Iowa Economic Forecasting Council. He has been a visiting scholar at the Federal Reserve Banks of Atlanta and Minneapolis.

Return to top of page