News & Events

Berg Receives 2014 Michael J. Brody Award

Joyce  BergJoyce Berg, professor of accounting and the Pioneer Hi-Bred Research Fellow, received a 2014 Michael J. Brody Award for Faculty Excellence in Service.

Berg, who serves as the advisor for Beta Alpha Psi, Tippie's student organization for accounting majors, is the third Tippie faculty member to receive the award. Previous recipients include management and organizations emeritus professors Jude West (2000) and Nancy Hauserman (1992).

In addition to Berg, the second recipient this year is Victoria Sharp, clinical professor of urology and family medicine in the Carver College of Medicine and chief of staff of the University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics. Berg and Sharp will be recognized at an awards banquet hosted by the Provost's Office. Each will receive $1,000 and a commemorative object that was designed by a graduate art student.

The Brody Award is named in honor of the late Michael J. Brody, former president of the UI Faculty Senate. This University of Iowa award was established in 1990 to recognize outstanding faculty who have made exceptional contributions to the UI and the community.

Return to top of page