News & Events

Business Students and Organizations Honored for Achievements

Each spring, special events throughout The University of Iowa recognize the outstanding accomplishments of students and student organizations. Typically, dynamic students from the Tippie College of Business earn numerous honors, and this year is no exception.

Andrew Stoll, a senior double majoring in Management and Organizations and Communication Studies, received two of the highest honors bestowed on students. This Omaha, Nebraska native received both a Hancher-Finkbine Medallion and a University-wide Leadership Award. The Leadership Award, presented at the Hawkeye Student Leadership Banquet, was given to Stoll for his work with the Bijou, the independent movie theatre located in the Iowa Memorial Union.

The conferring of Hancher-Finkbine medallions began in 1964 as a way to recognize outstanding leadership, learning, and loyalty, and are named after William O. Finkbine, a Des Moines businessman and 1880 law graduate, and Virgil M. Hancher, who served as president of the UI from 1940 to 1964.

The Hawkeye Awards Banquet, which recognizes student leaders across the campus, also presented a Hawkeye Achievement Award to Le Mars native Kristin Trotzig. She received this award as special recognition from the UI Student Government for her service as an officer. In addition, the contributions a Tippie undergraduate student organization, Women In Business, were recognized at this event. Women in Business won the Excellence Award for Outstanding Program of the Year for its Fall 2002 Leadership Conference, which attracted participants from around the region and throughout the University.

Other students within the Tippie College who have recently received recognition for their accomplishments include Brianne Miller from Mount Union, Iowa, who has been awarded the Delta Sigma Pi Scholarship Key, which is awarded annually to the graduating senior with the highest academic average during their four years of undergraduate study in business.

Jill Beckwith of West Des Moines received the Collegiate Scholar Award, which is given to a graduating senior based on academic accomplishments. Iowa City native Shauna Stannard has been inducted into Phi Beta Kappa, the undergraduate honors organization for students in Liberal Arts and Sciences. Stannard will receive both a BA in Spanish and a BBA in Marketing when she graduates in May. The 2003 Tippie College of Business Best Student Organization Award has been awarded to Alpha Kappa Psi, one of the College's professional business fraternities.

MBA Student Nicole Pfeiffer received the M. Bhanu Murthy Memorial Prize for Excellence in Teaching from the Department of Marketing. This prize memorializes the late M. Bhanu Murthy, a student who died of leukemia in 1983 while in the Marketing doctoral program. The award has been presented annually to a graduate student since 1984.

In the Economics Department of the Tippie College, Des Moines native Matt Cole received the Outstanding Teaching Assistant Award for 2002-03 while Pedro Silos won the Best Research Paper Award for 2002-03.

The Department of Accounting presents numerous awards at their annual spring banquet. Recipients this year include Ty Porter Doggett of Seymour, Iowa, who was named the recipient of the Outstanding Master of Accountancy Student Award for 2003, an award sponsored by The Federation of Schools of Accountancy.

Other accounting awards include the Outstanding Accounting Junior Awards, which were given to Kira Selser from Davenport, Iowa, and Stephen J. Newman from Ankeny, Iowa. The Outstanding Accounting Senior Award, sponsored by the Iowa Society of CPAs, was presented to Brandon R. Miller of Ida Grove, Iowa.

West Des Moines's Peter M. Nelson received the Outstanding Achievement in Writing Award, presented to a student in his/her junior year, and sponsored by Tom and Patrice Carroll. Katie M. True from Avoca, Iowa, won the senior's Outstanding Achievement in Writing Award, which is sponsored by Deere and Company. Deere also sponsors the Outstanding Achievement in Writing Award for a Master of Accountancy student, which went to Laura Pixley of Ottumwa, Iowa.

Brett A. Anderson from Marion, Iowa, Nicholas W. Whisler from Huxley, Iowa, and Ty Porter Doggett from Seymour, all received Byron R. Ross Awards for Teaching Excellence (for Teaching Assistants) from the Department of Accounting. The endowed awards were established to recognize Byron R. Ross who, following his retirement with McGladrey & Pullen, served as an adjunct professor in the Department of Accounting for a number of years. The awards are based on the winners' strong commitment to education, as evidenced by teaching evaluations, pedagogical innovations, and good citizenship.

As is true every year, Tippie College of Business students are prominent leaders throughout the University. The College takes pride in these students and their accomplishments.

Return to top of page