News & Events

Business Organizations Honored for Achievements

Student organizations in the Tippie College of Business were recognized last week for their accomplishments in leadership, professional development, and community service.

Staff in the Tippie College's Undergraduate Program Office worked with students to present the second annual Tippie Student Organization Awards, which were awarded at a banquet April 28.

Delta Sigma Pi won the award for Best Student Organization of the Year for meeting its goals of fostering professional development, encouraging civic engagement, and social responsibility, and promoting both professional and social interaction between its members and members of the commercial community. Delta Sigma Pi members participated and sponsored a highway cleanup, lunches at the Wesley Center, visits to the UI Children's Hospital and Ronald McDonald House, and a Charity Softball Tournament benefiting the Children's Miracle Network. Delta Sigma Pi provided many professional development opportunities. The group hosted a career fair, tripled its corporate relations offerings, and became the first UI student organization to join the Iowa City Chamber of Commerce. Delta Sigma Pi also received campus-wide recognition April 2 at the Hawkeye Leadership Luncheon for its programs and activities, receiving the Hawkeye Outstanding Student Organization of the Year Award. The UI Office of Student Life and Student Government present this award to the clubs or organizations that have contributed most significantly to improving the quality of student life at the UI.

I-Envision, the Tippie College entrepreneurship organization, won three Tippie Student Organization Awards, including Program of the Year. Through the "Best in the U.S." program, I-Envision taught and fostered business concepts to students at Northwest Junior High School that led to the founding of "Northwest Freeze," an after-school ice cream business that earned profits over $200. I-Envision also won the Community Service Program of the Year Award for developing the Shelter House Reverse Interviewing Program, which helped individuals at the Shelter House to develop their interviewing and resume skills. In addition, the student entrepreneurs won the Speaker Series of the Year Award for its Guest Speaker Series that highlighted the accomplishments of UI alumni who shared their stories of success and versatility.

Alpha Kappa Psi received Fundraiser of the Year Award by raising $1,400 for its scholarship fund. The business fraternity partnered with a local business to sell promotional coupon books and also received donations from alumni. In May, Alpha Kappa Psi plans to partner with another student organization in a charity volleyball tournament for Home Ties, a local low-income daycare center.

Additional student organization award winners included Beta Alpha Psi, the Tippie College accounting fraternity, for Website of the Year. The fraternity's website was honored for using professional and unique design, graphics, and pictures to convey information to students, faculty and employers.

For the second year, the Tippie Optimist Chapter received the Best Recruitment of the Year Award. It successfully recruited 67 new members through lecture presentations, recruitment tables, and email contact.

Two Tippie College faculty were honored by student organizations. Kenneth G. Brown, assistant professor of management and organizations and Huneke Faculty Research Fellow was named Students' Choice for Faculty Member of the Year, chosen by the student Leadership Council for his hard work and dedication to student success.

Business and Technology Association (BTA) faculty advisor Yvonne Galusha received the Faculty Advisor of the Year Award. Galusha helped promote professional development of BTA members and helped the association become a nationally recognized student chapter. She also played an important role in helping BTA's website be named one the top 10 chapter sites among 400 chapters of the Association of Information Technology Professionals.

Each organization named its member of the year, honoring their leaders who excelled and motivated by example. The recipients were:

Alpha Kappa Psi: Ryan Jennings
American Marketing Association: Kelly Lansing
Beta Alpha Psi: Rachelle Kuhlmann
Business Student Ambassadors: Amy Ambroson
Business Technology Association: Andy Heffling
Delta Sigma Pi: Diane Bortoli
Economics Forum: Marc Wallace
Financial Management Association: Kristi Pfeiler
I-Envision: Students in Free Enterprise: Jamie Hoover
International Business Student Association: Lucas Terpkosh
Leadership Council: Jon Sargent
Multicultural Business Student Association: Carlin Dorris

Return to top of page