Back to Henry B. Tippie College Directory Homepage

Department of Accounting

Phone: 319-335-0910    Fax: 319-335-1956    Office: W252 PBB    Web: tippie.uiowa.edu/accounting

Administration

Daniel Collins
Daniel W. Collins
Professor and Department Executive Officer
Paul Hribar
Paul Hribar
Professor and Director, Ph.D. Program in Accounting
Thomas Carroll
Thomas J. Carroll
Lecturer and Director, MAc Program
Kevin Den Adel
Kevin J. Den Adel
Lecturer and Director, Accounting Undergraduate Program
Kimberly Klein
Kimberly S. Klein
Departmental Administrator
Jean Thompson
Jean A. Thompson
Program Assistant (part-time), McGladrey Institute of Accounting Education and Research


Tenured and Tenure-Track Faculty


H. Scott Asay H. Scott Asay     scott-asay@uiowa.edu
Office: S232 PBB    Phone: 319-335-0852
Assistant Professor
Academic History:
  • - PhD in Accounting, Cornell University, Ithaca, NY, 2013
  • - MS in Management, Cornell University, Ithaca, NY, 2012
  • - MAc in Accounting, Brigham Young University, Provo, UT, 2008
  • - BA in Accounting, Brigham Young University, Provo, UT, 2007
Ramji Balakrishnan Ramji Balakrishnan     ramji-balakrishnan@uiowa.edu
Office: W262A PBB    Phone: 319-335-0958
Professor and Director, RSM McGladrey Institute of Accounting Education and Research
Carlson-KPMG Research Professor of Accounting

Academic History:
  • - PhD in Accounting, Columbia University, New York, NY, 1986
  • - MBA, Indian Institute of Management, India, 1979
  • - BSc in Statistics, University of Madras, India, 1977
Joyce Berg Joyce Berg     joyce-berg@uiowa.edu
Office: S284 PBB    Phone: 319-335-0840
Professor and Director, Iowa Electronic Markets
Pioneer Hi-Bred Research Fellow

Academic History:
  • - PhD in Accounting, University of Minnesota, 1988
  • - MBA, University of Minnesota, 1985
  • - BSB in Accounting, University of Minnesota, 1979
Expertise: Design of Incentive Systems, Experimental Markets, Internet Markets and Market Design, Iowa Electronic Markets, Management Accounting, Prediction Markets
Daniel Collins Daniel Collins     daniel-collins@uiowa.edu
Office: W252 PBB    Phone: 319-335-0912
Professor and Department Executive Officer
Henry B. Tippie Research Chair in Accounting

Academic History:
  • - PhD in Accounting, The University of Iowa, 1973
  • - BBA in Accounting, The University of Iowa, 1968
Expertise: Corporate Governance and its effects on debt and equity cost of capital, Empirical assessments of earnings quality, Financial accounting, Role of earnings and other accounting numbers in struggles for corporate control
Douglas DeJong Douglas DeJong     douglas-dejong@uiowa.edu
Office: W348 PBB    Phone: 319-335-0919
Professor
Lloyd J. and Thelma W. Palmer Professor of Accounting

Academic History:
  • - PhD in Accounting, University of Michigan, 1980
  • - MBA in Finance, University of Iowa, 1971
  • - BBA in Accounting, University of Iowa, 1970
Expertise: Corporate Governance (US and International), Experimental Economics: strategic games, markets and econometrics, International Financial Reporting Standards (IFRS)
Cristi Gleason Cristi Gleason     cristi-gleason@uiowa.edu
Office: W350 PBB    Phone: 319-335-1505
Associate Professor
Henry B. Tippie Research Fellow

Academic History:
  • - PhD in Management, Cornell University, 1998
  • - MAc in Accounting, Brigham Young University, 1992
  • - BS in Accounting, Brigham Young University, 1990
Expertise: Financial Accounting and Reporting, Financial Reporting of Income Tax
Paul Hribar Paul Hribar     paul-hribar@uiowa.edu
Office: W346 PBB    Phone: 319-335-1008
Professor and Director, Ph.D. Program in Accounting
Leonard A. Hadley Research Professor of Accounting

Academic History:
  • - PhD in Accounting, The University of Iowa, 2000
  • - MSc in Accounting, College of Commerce, University of Saskatchewan, 1995
  • - BMgt in Accounting, Faculty of Management, University of Lethbridge, 1992
Expertise: Empirical/Archival Research in Financial Accounting. Specialties include measurement of earnings management using empirical models; accounting-based anomalies; predicting stock returns using accounting data.
Kevin Markle Kevin Markle     kevin-markle@uiowa.edu
Office: W322 PBB    Phone: 319-335-1903
Assistant Professor
Academic History:
  • - PhD in Business Administration, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, NC, 2010
  • - BS Ed in Intermediate-Senior Education, University of Toronto, Canada, 1994
  • - BSc in Mathematical Science, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, NC, 1992
Samuel Melessa Samuel Melessa     samuel-melessa@uiowa.edu
Office: W352 PBB    Phone: 319-335-0939
Assistant Professor
Academic History:
  • - PhD in Accounting, Duke University, 2012
  • - MS in Economics, University of Utah, 2007
  • - BS in Business (emphasis Finance), Brigham Young University, 2001
Expertise: Empirical/Archival Research in Financial Accounting
Richard Mergenthaler Richard Mergenthaler     rick-mergenthaler@uiowa.edu
Office: W276 PBB    Phone: 319-335-0848
Associate Professor
Henry B. Tippie Research Fellow

Academic History:
  • - PhD in Accounting, University of Washington, 2008
  • - MAc, Brigham Young University, 2002
  • - BS in Accounting, Brigham Young University, 2002
Mark Penno Mark Penno     mark-penno@uiowa.edu
Office: W262A PBB    Phone: 319-335-1409
Professor
Ray William Shearman Research Fellow

Academic History:
  • - PhD in Accounting and Information Systems, Northwestern University, 1983
  • - MS in Business, University of Wisconsin, 1977
  • - BA in Philosophy, University of Wisconsin, 1973
Expertise: Accounting Theory
Jaron Wilde Jaron Wilde     jaron-wilde@uiowa.edu
Office: W280 PBB    Phone: 319-335-0849
Assistant Professor
Academic History:
  • - PhD in Accounting, Mays Business School, Texas A&M University, College Station, TX, 2013
  • - MAc in Accounting (taxation emphasis), Marriott School of Management, Brigham Young University, Provo, UT, 2004
  • - BS in Accounting, Marriott School of Management, Brigham Young University, 2004
Expertise: Taxation and financial reporting, with an emphasis on the effect of political processes and monitors on firms’ business decisions and reporting behavior.

Lecturers


Amy An Amy An     amy-an@uiowa.edu
Office: C350 PBB    Phone: 319-335-1405
Lecturer
Academic History:
  • - MA in Accounting, The University of Iowa, 1982
  • - BA Honors in French, University of British Columbia, Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada, 1973
Expertise: Compliance, research and review of tax issues, Tax issues and preparation
Thomas Carroll Thomas Carroll     thomas-carroll@uiowa.edu
Office: S324 PBB    Phone: 319-335-2727
Lecturer and Director, MAc Program
Academic History:
  • - PhD in Accounting, University of Michigan, 1988
  • - BBA in Accounting, University of Notre Dame, 1979
Expertise: Financial reporting
Kevin Den Adel Kevin Den Adel     kevin-denadel@uiowa.edu
Office: W372 PBB    Phone: 319-335-1412
Lecturer and Director, Accounting Undergraduate Program
Academic History:
  • - PhD in Accounting, The University of Iowa, 1999
  • - BA in Accounting, Central College, Pella, IA, 1991
Expertise: Auditing , Financial Reporting
Robert Hartman Robert Hartman     robert-hartman@uiowa.edu
Office: C368 PBB    Phone: 319-335-3781
Lecturer
Academic History:
  • - MAc, The University of Iowa, 1998
  • - BS in Accounting, Pennsylvania State University, 1975
Expertise: Financial Accounting and Reporting, Government and Not-for-Profit Accounting, Internal Auditing, Management Accounting

Adjunct and Visiting Faculty


Kris Gulick Kris Gulick     kris-gulick@uiowa.edu
Office: W252 PBB    Phone: 319-360-9161
Adjunct Lecturer
Academic History:
  • - , CPA, State of Iowa
  • - BA, Coe College, Cedar Rapids, IA, 1986
  • - MA, University of Iowa, 1982
  • - BA, University of Northern Iowa, Cedar Falls, IA, 1980
Mary Murphy Mary Murphy     mary-murphy-1@uiowa.edu
Office: W259 PBB    Phone: 319-335-0913
Adjunct Lecturer
Academic History:
  • - JD, The University of Iowa, 1988
  • - MBA, Marquette University, Milwaukee, WI, 1985
  • - BA in English, Marquette University, 1983
Kenneth Njoroge Kenneth Njoroge     kenneth-njoroge@uiowa.edu
Office: W388 PBB    Phone: 319-335-0850
Visiting Assistant Professor
Academic History:
  • - BS in Agriculture, University of Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
  • - PhD in Accounting, Duke University, Durham, NC, 2009
  • - MS in Agricultural Economics, University of Nebraska, Lincoln, NE, 2003
Kevin Trout Kevin Trout     robert-trout@uiowa.edu
Office: W252 PBB    Phone: 319-335-0910
Adjunct Lecturer
Academic History:
  • - BS in Finance, Utah State University
  • - MA in Finance, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
  • - MA in Taxation, University of Tulsa, 2010
  • - MAc in Accounting, University of Iowa, 2003


Top