MENU

Department of Finance

 319-335-0929      319-335-3690      S252 PBB      tippie.uiowa.edu/finance

Administration

Erik Lie
Erik Lie
Professor, and Departmental Executive Officer
Ashish Tiwari
Ashish Tiwari
Associate Professor and Director, PhD Program in Finance
Bev Berg
Bev J. Berg
Department Secretary

Tenured and Tenure-Track Faculty


David Bates

Professor
Henry B. Tippie Research Professor of Finance

 S336 PBB      319-353-2288      david-bates@uiowa.edu

Academic History:
  • PhD in Economics, Princeton University, 1988
  • MA in Economics, Princeton University, 1985
  • MPA in Economics and Public Policy, Princeton University, 1981
  • BS in Mathematics, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, 1978
EXPERTISE:

Asset pricing, Derivatives, Estimation of latent-variable models of volatility and jump risk, Informational content of currency and stock index option prices, Options


Artem Durnev

Associate Professor
Henry B. Tippie Research Fellow

 S386 PBB      319-335-2626      artem-durnev@uiowa.edu

Academic History:
  • PhD in Finance, University of Michigan, 2003
  • MSc in Economics, Pennsylvania State University, 1998
  • MSc in Economics, New Economic School, 1994
EXPERTISE:

Corporate Finance, Corporate Governance, Energy Sector, Exchange Rates, Financial Crises, Politics and Finance


Jon Garfinkel

Professor
Henry B. Tippie Research Fellow

 S262 PBB      319-335-0943      jon-garfinkel@uiowa.edu

Academic History:
  • PhD in Finance, University of Florida, Gainesville, 1994
  • BA in Economics, Virginia Tech, Blacksburg, 1988
EXPERTISE:

Corporate Financing Behavior, Corporate Investment Behavior, Divergent Investor Opinions, Insider trading


Wei Li

Assistant Professor
 S276 PBB      319-335-0911      wei-li@uiowa.edu

Academic History:
  • PhD in Finance, University of Iowa, 2006
  • PhD in Mathematics, University of Iowa, 2001
  • BA in Mathematics, Xian Jiaotong University, 1993
EXPERTISE:

Agency Theory, Asset Pricing, Financial Intermediaries


Erik Lie

Professor, and Departmental Executive Officer
Henry B. Tippie Research Professor of Finance

 S252 PBB      319-335-0846      erik-lie@uiowa.edu

Academic History:
  • PhD in Finance, Purdue University, 1996
  • MBA, University of Oregon, 1991
  • BS, University of Oregon, 1990

David Mauer

Professor
Henry B. Tippie Research Fellow

 S320 PBB      319-335-0944      david-mauer@uiowa.edu

Academic History:
  • PhD, Krannert Graduate School of Management, Purdue University, 1986
  • BBA, College of Business, The University of Iowa, 1982

Amrita Nain

Assistant Professor
 S236 PBB      319-335-1017      amrita-nain@uiowa.edu

Academic History:
  • PhD in Finance, University of Michigan, 2005
  • MSc in Finance and Economics, University of Warwick, 1997
  • BA in Economics, University of Delhi, 1996

Shagun Pant

Assistant Professor
 C366 PBB      319-335-3738      shagun-pant@uiowa.edu

Academic History:
  • PhD in Finance, University of Utah, 2009
  • MA in MIS, University of Iowa, 2003
  • BE in Electrical Engineering, University of Mumbai, 1999

Yiming Qian

Associate Professor
Henry B. Tippie Research Fellow

 S382 PBB      319-335-0934      yiming-qian@uiowa.edu

Academic History:
  • PhD in Finance, New York University, 2002
  • MA in Economics, Fordham University, 1997
  • BA in Economics, NanKai University, 1995
EXPERTISE:

Corporate Finance, IPOs, Mergers and Acquisitions, Corporate Governance, and Capital Market


Thomas Rietz

Professor and Faculty Director, Finance Academy
Leonard A. Hadley Research Fellow

 S244 PBB      319-335-0856      thomas-rietz@uiowa.edu

Academic History:
  • PhD in Economics, The University of Iowa, 1988
  • BA in Economics, University of Northern Iowa, 1983
EXPERTISE:

Behavioral Finance, Experimental Economics and Finance, Experimental Markets and Game Theory


Jarjisu Sa-Aadu

Professor
Chester A. Phillips Professor of Business Finance and Real Estate

 S272 PBB      319-335-0930      jsa-aadu@uiowa.edu

Academic History:
  • PhD in Finance and Real Estate, University of Wisconsin-Madison, 1980
  • MBA in Finance and Real Estate, University of Wisconsin-Madison, 1976
  • BS in Economics, Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology, Kumasi, Ghana, 1973
EXPERTISE:

Fixed Income Securities, Mortgage Choice and Mortgage Pricing, Real Estate Finance and Investments, Real Estate Investment Trust (REITs), Structured Finance/Asset-backed securitization


Gerry Suchanek

Associate Professor
 S278 PBB      319-335-0952      gerry-suchanek@uiowa.edu

Academic History:
  • MS in Mathematics, Northwestern University, 1977
  • PhD in Economics, Northwestern University, 1977
EXPERTISE:

Derivative security evaluation, Fianancial institution management and fixed income securities, Financial economic theory, Work in Progress: I am developing a short text for a 1-semester course in Fixed Income Securities that focuses on a basic introduction to types of fixed income securities (including derivatives), theories and models of interest rates, and their application for valuing alternative types of securities. One purpose is to provide a 1-semester focus on current valuation techniques, important institutional issues, and ability to value the array of complex derivatives being used today.


Ashish Tiwari

Associate Professor and Director, PhD Program in Finance
Henry B. Tippie Research Fellow

 S308 PBB      319-353-2185      ashish-tiwari@uiowa.edu

Academic History:
  • PhD in Finance, The University of Iowa, 1994
  • MBA in Finance, University of Windsor, 1989
  • MBA in Finance and MIS, Panjab University, Chandigarh, 1984
EXPERTISE:

Asset Pricing, Financial Econometrics, Market Microstructure, Mutual Funds/Hedge Funds


Anand Vijh

Professor
Marvin and Rose Lee Pomerantz Chair in Finance

 S286 PBB      319-335-0921      anand-vijh@uiowa.edu

Academic History:
  • PhD in Finance, University of California, Berkeley, 1987
  • MBA, Indian Institute of Management, Ahmedabad, India, 1979
  • BTech in Mechanical Engineering, Indian Institute of Tech. Delhi India, 1977
EXPERTISE:

Corporate Finance, Empirical capital markets, Options


Tong Yao

Associate Professor
Henry B. Tippie Research Fellow

 S304 PBB      319-335-3924      tong-yao@uiowa.edu

Academic History:
  • BA in International Economics, Fudan University
  • PhD in Finance, Boston College
EXPERTISE:

Stock return predictability; Investment management; Mutual funds


Lecturers


Heidi Dybevik

Lecturer
 S312 PBB      319-335-0657      heidi-dybevik@uiowa.edu

Academic History:
  • PhD in Finance, Purdue University, 1997
  • BA in Business Adminstration (Finance), Truman State University, 1991
EXPERTISE:

Corporate Finance , Corporate Restructuring, Financial Distress, Payout Policy


John Gallo

Lecturer
 S270B PBB      319-335-3788      john-gallo@uiowa.edu

Academic History:
  • PhD in Finance, University of Texas at Arlington, 1992
  • MBA in Finance/Marketing, University of Texas at Arlington, 1983
  • BGS in History/Sociology, The University of Iowa, 1978
EXPERTISE:

Portfolio management strategy, Real estate portfolio management, Security analysis


Jeffrey Hart

Lecturer
 W278 PBB      319-335-0891      jeffrey-hart@uiowa.edu

Academic History:
  • PhD in Finance, University of Texas, Arlington, TX, 1999
  • MBA in Finance, Loyola University, Chicago, IL, 1992
  • BBA in Finance, University of Iowa, Iowa City, IA, 1988
EXPERTISE:

Investments, Valuation, and Hedge Funds


Larry Hershberger

Lecturer and Director, Emmett J. Vaughan Institute for Risk Management and Insurance
 S230B PBB      319-335-0896      larry-hershberger@uiowa.edu

Academic History:
  • BBA in Marketing, The University of Iowa, 1966
EXPERTISE:

Insurance/Financial Services, Pensions, 403(b) and 401(k) plans, Risk Management, Employee Benefits


Todd Houge

Lecturer
Curt and Carol Lane Research Fellow

 S288 PBB      319-335-3754      todd-houge@uiowa.edu

Academic History:
  • PhD in Finance, The University of Iowa, 1998
  • MBA in Investments & Corporate Finance, The University of Iowa, 1994
  • BA in Finance and Economics, Wartburg College, 1992
EXPERTISE:

Applied Equity Valuation, Equity Portfolio Management, Financial Modeling, Investment Strategies, Wealth Management


Brian Richman

Lecturer and Director, Hawkinson Institute of Business Finance
 S270 PBB      319-335-0853      brian-richman@uiowa.edu

Academic History:
  • MFA in Creative Writing, Iowa Writers' Workshop, The University of Iowa, 2003
  • BA in History of Science, University of Pennsylvania, 1987
  • BS in Economics, The Wharton School, University of Pennsylvania, 1987
EXPERTISE:

Investment Banking, Public Finance


Adjunct and Visiting Faculty


David Barker

Adjunct Professor
 S252 PBB      319-353-0929      david-barker@uiowa.edu

Academic History:
  • PhD in Economics, University of Chicago, Chicago, IL, 1991
  • MA in Economics, University of Chicago, Chicago, IL, 1986
  • BA Honors in Economics, University of California, Berkeley, CA, 1984
  • Other in Economics, London School of Economics, London, UK, 1983

Philip Brooks

Adjunct Lecturer
 S316 PBB      319-335-3756      pbrooks@simmonsperrine.com

Academic History:
  • JD, Creighton University Law School, 1977
  • MBA in Finance and risk management emphasis, The University of Iowa, 1974
  • BBA in Finance, insurance, and marketing emphasis, The University of Iowa, 1972

Clare Fairfield

Adjunct Lecturer
 S252 PBB      319-335-0929      clare.fairfield@gmail.com

Academic History:
  • MBA, The University of Iowa Tippie School of Management, 1995
  • JD, University of Iowa College of Law, 1990
  • BBA in Accounting, The University of Iowa, 1987

Scott Fisher

Adjunct Lecturer
 S252 PBB      319-335-0929      scott-r-fisher@uiowa.edu

Academic History:
  • JD in Law, The University of Iowa, 1987
  • BA in English, The University of Iowa, 1984
EXPERTISE:

Benefits Administration, E-business, Employee benefits, ERISA, Insurance, Risk Management


D. Charles Foster

Adjunct Lecturer
 W318 PBB      319-335-0948      dcfoster@aegonusa.com

Academic History:
  • MBA in Finance, School of Management, The University of Iowa, 2003
  • BS in Industrial Engineering, College of Engineering, The University of Iowa, 2002

Robert Fulwider

Adjunct Lecturer
 S316 PBB      319-335-3756      robert-fulwider@uiowa.edu

Academic History:
  • MS in High Education Administration, Iowa State University, Ames, IA, 1972
  • BS in Agricultural Education, Iowa State University, Ames, IA, 1967

Christopher Harris

Adjunct Lecturer
 S252 PBB      319-335-0929      christopher-harris-2@uiowa.edu

Academic History:
  • Course work in CFP Professional Education Program, College for Financial Planning, Denver, CO, 2003
  • BA in Marketing, Lewis University, Romeoville, IL, 1990

Jon Kettering

Adjunct Lecturer
 S252 PBB      319-335-0929      jon-kettering@uiowa.edu

Academic History:
  • BA in Accounting, Coe College, 1984
  • MBA in Finance, The University of Iowa, 1979
  • BA in Management & Finance, University of Northern Iowa, 1976
EXPERTISE:

Corporate Finance and Accounting, Investment and Financial Technology, Treasury Management


Dirk Laschanzky

Adjunct Lecturer
 S252 PBB      319-335-0929      laschanzky.dirk@principal.com

Academic History:
  • MBA in Finance, The University of Iowa, 1997
  • BBA in Finance, The University of Iowa, 1986
EXPERTISE:

Asset Allocation, Equity Analysis, Fixed Income Analysis


Matthew Monson

Adjunct Lecturer
 S316 PBB      319-335-3756      matthew-monson@uiowa.edu

Academic History:
  • BA in Mathematics Actuarial Specialization, University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, MN, 1991

Calvin Norris

Adjunct Lecturer
 S316 PBB      319-335-3756      calvin-norris@uiowa.edu

Academic History:
  • MBA in Finance, Management & Organizations, The University of Iowa, 2001
  • BBA in Finance, The University of Iowa, 1992
EXPERTISE:

Credit Analysis, Financial Engineering/Derivatives, Fixed Income Portfolio Management, Structured Finance


Donna Pearcy

Adjunct Lecturer
 S252 PBB      319-335-0929      donna-pearcy@uiowa.edu

Academic History:
  • MBA, Southeast Missouri State University, 1979
  • BS, Southeast Missouri State University, 1977

Eric Perry

Adjunct Lecturer
 S252 PBB      319-335-0929      Rperry@aegonusa.com

Academic History:
  • MBA in Investments, Corporate Finance, The University of Iowa, 1992
  • BA in Accounting, Business Management, Central College, 1989

Leighton Smith

Adjunct Lecturer
 S316 PBB      319-335-3756      leighton-smith@uiowa.edu

Academic History:
  • JD, The University of Iowa College of Law, 2008
  • MBA, The University of Iowa School of Management, 2008
  • BA in Philosophy, University of Chicago, 2004

Matthew Trosper

Adjunct Lecturer
 S252 PBB      319-335-0929      matthew-trosper@uiowa.edu

Academic History:
  • MBA, Henry B. Tippie College of Business, The University of Iowa, 2005
  • BS in Civil Engineering, University of Notre Dame, Notre Dame, IN, 1999