Back to Henry B. Tippie College Directory Homepage

Department of Finance

Phone: 319-335-0929   Fax: 319-335-3690   Office: S252 PBB   Web: tippie.uiowa.edu/finance

Administration

Erik Lie
Erik Lie
Professor, and Departmental Executive Officer
Ashish Tiwari
Ashish Tiwari
Associate Professor and Director, PhD Program in Finance
Bev Berg
Bev J. Berg
Department Secretary


Tenured and Tenure-Track Faculty


David Bates David Bates     david-bates@uiowa.edu
Office: S336 PBB    Phone: 319-353-2288
Professor
Henry B. Tippie Research Professor of Finance

Academic History:
  • - PhD in Economics, Princeton University, 1988
  • - MA in Economics, Princeton University, 1985
  • - MPA in Economics and Public Policy, Princeton University, 1981
  • - BS in Mathematics, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, 1978
Expertise: Asset pricing, Derivatives, Estimation of latent-variable models of volatility and jump risk, Informational content of currency and stock index option prices, Options
Artem Durnev Artem Durnev     artem-durnev@uiowa.edu
Office: S386 PBB    Phone: 319-335-2626
Associate Professor
Henry B. Tippie Research Fellow

Academic History:
  • - PhD in Finance, University of Michigan, 2003
  • - MSc in Economics, Pennsylvania State University, 1998
  • - MSc in Economics, New Economic School, 1994
Expertise: Corporate Finance, Corporate Governance, Energy Sector, Exchange Rates, Financial Crises, Politics and Finance
Jon Garfinkel Jon Garfinkel     jon-garfinkel@uiowa.edu
Office: S262 PBB    Phone: 319-335-0943
Professor
Henry B. Tippie Research Fellow

Academic History:
  • - PhD in Finance, University of Florida, Gainesville, 1994
  • - BA in Economics, Virginia Tech, Blacksburg, 1988
Expertise: Corporate Financing Behavior, Corporate Investment Behavior, Divergent Investor Opinions, Insider trading
Wei Li Wei Li     wei-li@uiowa.edu
Office: S276 PBB    Phone: 319-335-0911
Assistant Professor
Academic History:
  • - PhD in Finance, University of Iowa, 2006
  • - PhD in Mathematics, University of Iowa, 2001
  • - BA in Mathematics, Xian Jiaotong University, 1993
Expertise: Agency Theory, Asset Pricing, Financial Intermediaries
Erik Lie Erik Lie     erik-lie@uiowa.edu
Office: S252 PBB    Phone: 319-335-0846
Professor, and Departmental Executive Officer
Henry B. Tippie Research Professor of Finance

Academic History:
  • - PhD in Finance, Purdue University, 1996
  • - MBA, University of Oregon, 1991
  • - BS, University of Oregon, 1990
David Mauer David Mauer     david-mauer@uiowa.edu
Office: S320 PBB    Phone: 319-335-0944
Professor
Henry B. Tippie Research Fellow

Academic History:
  • - PhD, Krannert Graduate School of Management, Purdue University, 1986
  • - BBA, College of Business, The University of Iowa, 1982
Amrita Nain Amrita Nain     amrita-nain@uiowa.edu
Office: S236 PBB    Phone: 319-335-1017
Assistant Professor
Academic History:
  • - PhD in Finance, University of Michigan, 2005
  • - MSc in Finance and Economics, University of Warwick, 1997
  • - BA in Economics, University of Delhi, 1996
Shagun Pant Shagun Pant     shagun-pant@uiowa.edu
Office: C366 PBB    Phone: 319-335-3738
Assistant Professor
Academic History:
  • - PhD in Finance, University of Utah, 2009
  • - MA in MIS, University of Iowa, 2003
  • - BE in Electrical Engineering, University of Mumbai, 1999
Yiming Qian Yiming Qian     yiming-qian@uiowa.edu
Office: S382 PBB    Phone: 319-335-0934
Associate Professor
Henry B. Tippie Research Fellow

Academic History:
  • - PhD in Finance, New York University, 2002
  • - MA in Economics, Fordham University, 1997
  • - BA in Economics, NanKai University, 1995
Expertise: Corporate Finance, IPOs, Mergers and Acquisitions, Corporate Governance, and Capital Market
Thomas Rietz Thomas Rietz     thomas-rietz@uiowa.edu
Office: S244 PBB    Phone: 319-335-0856
Professor and Faculty Director, Finance Academy
Leonard A. Hadley Research Fellow

Academic History:
  • - PhD in Economics, The University of Iowa, 1988
  • - BA in Economics, University of Northern Iowa, 1983
Expertise: Behavioral Finance, Experimental Economics and Finance, Experimental Markets and Game Theory
Jarjisu Sa-Aadu Jarjisu Sa-Aadu     jsa-aadu@uiowa.edu
Office: S272 PBB    Phone: 319-335-0930
Professor
Chester A. Phillips Professor of Business Finance and Real Estate

Academic History:
  • - PhD in Finance and Real Estate, University of Wisconsin-Madison, 1980
  • - MBA in Finance and Real Estate, University of Wisconsin-Madison, 1976
  • - BS in Economics, Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology, Kumasi, Ghana, 1973
Expertise: Fixed Income Securities, Mortgage Choice and Mortgage Pricing, Real Estate Finance and Investments, Real Estate Investment Trust (REITs), Structured Finance/Asset-backed securitization
Gerry Suchanek Gerry Suchanek     gerry-suchanek@uiowa.edu
Office: S278 PBB    Phone: 319-335-0952
Associate Professor
Academic History:
  • - MS in Mathematics, Northwestern University, 1977
  • - PhD in Economics, Northwestern University, 1977
Expertise: Derivative security evaluation, Fianancial institution management and fixed income securities, Financial economic theory, Work in Progress: I am developing a short text for a 1-semester course in Fixed Income Securities that focuses on a basic introduction to types of fixed income securities (including derivatives), theories and models of interest rates, and their application for valuing alternative types of securities. One purpose is to provide a 1-semester focus on current valuation techniques, important institutional issues, and ability to value the array of complex derivatives being used today.
Ashish Tiwari Ashish Tiwari     ashish-tiwari@uiowa.edu
Office: S308 PBB    Phone: 319-353-2185
Associate Professor and Director, PhD Program in Finance
Henry B. Tippie Research Fellow

Academic History:
  • - PhD in Finance, The University of Iowa, 1994
  • - MBA in Finance, University of Windsor, 1989
  • - MBA in Finance and MIS, Panjab University, Chandigarh, 1984
Expertise: Asset Pricing, Market Microstructure, Mutual Funds/Hedge Funds
Anand Vijh Anand Vijh     anand-vijh@uiowa.edu
Office: S286 PBB    Phone: 319-335-0921
Professor
Marvin and Rose Lee Pomerantz Chair in Finance

Academic History:
  • - PhD in Finance, University of California, Berkeley, 1987
  • - MBA, Indian Institute of Management, Ahmedabad, India, 1979
  • - BTech in Mechanical Engineering, Indian Institute of Tech. Delhi India, 1977
Expertise: Corporate Finance, Empirical capital markets, Options
Tong Yao Tong Yao     tong-yao@uiowa.edu
Office: S304 PBB    Phone: 319-335-3924
Associate Professor
Henry B. Tippie Research Fellow

Academic History:
  • - BA in International Economics, Fudan University
  • - PhD in Finance, Boston College
Expertise: Stock return predictability; Investment management; Mutual funds

Lecturers


Heidi Dybevik Heidi Dybevik     heidi-dybevik@uiowa.edu
Office: S312 PBB    Phone: 319-335-0657
Lecturer
Academic History:
  • - PhD in Finance, Purdue University, 1997
  • - BA in Business Adminstration (Finance), Truman State University, 1991
Expertise: Corporate Finance , Corporate Restructuring, Financial Distress, Payout Policy
John Gallo John Gallo     john-gallo@uiowa.edu
Office: S270B PBB    Phone: 319-335-3788
Lecturer
Academic History:
  • - PhD in Finance, University of Texas at Arlington, 1992
  • - MBA in Finance/Marketing, University of Texas at Arlington, 1983
  • - BGS in History/Sociology, The University of Iowa, 1978
Expertise: Portfolio management strategy, Real estate portfolio management, Security analysis
Jeffrey Hart Jeffrey Hart     jeffrey-hart@uiowa.edu
Office: W278 PBB    Phone: 319-335-0891
Lecturer
Academic History:
  • - PhD in Finance, University of Texas, Arlington, TX, 1999
  • - MBA in Finance, Loyola University, Chicago, IL, 1992
  • - BBA in Finance, University of Iowa, Iowa City, IA, 1988
Expertise: Investments, Valuation, and Hedge Funds
Larry Hershberger Larry Hershberger     larry-hershberger@uiowa.edu
Office: S230B PBB    Phone: 319-335-0896
Lecturer and Director, Emmett J. Vaughan Institute for Risk Management and Insurance
Academic History:
  • - BBA in Marketing, The University of Iowa, 1966
Expertise: Employee Benefits, Insurance/Financial Services, Pensions, 403(b) and 401(k) plans, Risk Management
Todd Houge Todd Houge     todd-houge@uiowa.edu
Office: S288 PBB    Phone: 319-335-3754
Lecturer
Curt and Carol Lane Research Fellow

Academic History:
  • - PhD in Finance, The University of Iowa, 1998
  • - MBA in Investments & Corporate Finance, The University of Iowa, 1994
  • - BA in Finance and Economics, Wartburg College, 1992
Expertise: Applied Equity Valuation, Financial Analysts and Financial Institutions, Investment Strategies, Market Efficiency, Portfolio Management, Wealth Management
Brian Richman Brian Richman     brian-richman@uiowa.edu
Office: S270 PBB    Phone: 319-335-0853
Lecturer and Director, Hawkinson Institute of Business Finance
Academic History:
  • - MFA in Creative Writing, Iowa Writers' Workshop, The University of Iowa, 2003
  • - BA in History of Science, University of Pennsylvania, 1987
  • - BS in Economics, The Wharton School, University of Pennsylvania, 1987
Expertise: Investment Banking, Public Finance

Adjunct and Visiting Faculty


David Barker David Barker     david-barker@uiowa.edu
Office: S252 PBB    Phone: 319-353-0929
Adjunct Professor
Academic History:
  • - PhD in Economics, University of Chicago, Chicago, IL, 1991
  • - MA in Economics, University of Chicago, Chicago, IL, 1986
  • - BA Honors in Economics, University of California, Berkeley, CA, 1984
  • - Other in Economics, London School of Economics, London, UK, 1983
Philip Brooks Philip Brooks     pbrooks@simmonsperrine.com
Office: S316 PBB    Phone: 319-335-3756
Adjunct Lecturer
Academic History:
  • - JD, Creighton University Law School, 1977
  • - MBA in Finance and risk management emphasis, The University of Iowa, 1974
  • - BBA in Finance, insurance, and marketing emphasis, The University of Iowa, 1972
Clare Fairfield Clare Fairfield     clare.fairfield@gmail.com
Office: S252 PBB    Phone: 319-335-0929
Adjunct Lecturer
Academic History:
  • - MBA, The University of Iowa Tippie School of Management, 1995
  • - JD, University of Iowa College of Law, 1990
  • - BBA in Accounting, The University of Iowa, 1987
Scott Fisher Scott Fisher     scott-r-fisher@uiowa.edu
Office: S252 PBB    Phone: 319-335-0929
Adjunct Lecturer
Academic History:
  • - JD in Law, The University of Iowa, 1987
  • - BA in English, The University of Iowa, 1984
Expertise: Benefits Administration, E-business, Employee benefits, ERISA, Insurance, Risk Management
D. Charles Foster D. Charles Foster     d-foster@uiowa.edu
Office: W318 PBB    Phone: 319-335-0948
Adjunct Lecturer
Academic History:
  • - MBA in Finance, School of Management, The University of Iowa, 2003
  • - BS in Industrial Engineering, College of Engineering, The University of Iowa, 2002
Robert Fulwider Robert Fulwider     robert-fulwider@uiowa.edu
Office: S316 PBB    Phone: 319-335-3756
Adjunct Lecturer
Academic History:
  • - MS in High Education Administration, Iowa State University, Ames, IA, 1972
  • - BS in Agricultural Education, Iowa State University, Ames, IA, 1967
Chrisopher Harris Chrisopher Harris     christopher-harris-2@uiowa.edu
Office: S252 PBB    Phone: 319-335-0929
Adjunct Lecturer
Academic History:
  • - Course work in CFP Professional Education Program, College for Financial Planning, Denver, CO, 2003
  • - BA in Marketing, Lewis University, Romeoville, IL, 1990
Jon Kettering Jon Kettering     jon-kettering@uiowa.edu
Office: S252 PBB    Phone: 319-335-0929
Adjunct Lecturer
Academic History:
  • - BA in Accounting, Coe College, 1984
  • - MBA in Finance, The University of Iowa, 1979
  • - BA in Management & Finance, University of Northern Iowa, 1976
Expertise: Corporate Finance and Accounting, Investment and Financial Technology, Treasury Management
Calvin Norris Calvin Norris     calvin-norris@uiowa.edu
Office: W318 PBB    Phone: 319-335-0948
Adjunct Lecturer
Academic History:
  • - MBA in Finance, Management & Organizations, The University of Iowa, 2001
  • - BBA in Finance, The University of Iowa, 1992
Expertise: Credit Analysis, Financial Engineering/Derivatives, Fixed Income Portfolio Management, Structured Finance
Donna Pearcy Donna Pearcy     donna-pearcy@uiowa.edu
Office: S252 PBB    Phone: 319-335-0929
Adjunct Lecturer
Academic History:
  • - BS, Southeast Missouri State University, 1977
  • - MBA, Southeast Missouri State University, 1979
Eric Perry Eric Perry     Rperry@aegonusa.com
Office: S252 PBB    Phone: 319-335-0929
Adjunct Lecturer
Academic History:
  • - MBA in Investments, Corporate Finance, The University of Iowa, 1992
  • - BA in Accounting, Business Management, Central College, 1989
Leighton Smith Leighton Smith     leighton-smith@uiowa.edu
Office: S252 PBB    Phone: 319-335-0929
Adjunct Lecturer
Academic History:
  • - JD, The University of Iowa College of Law, 2008
  • - MBA, The University of Iowa School of Management, 2008
  • - BA in Philosophy, University of Chicago, 2004
Matthew Trosper Matthew Trosper     matthew-trosper@uiowa.edu
Office: S252 PBB    Phone: 319-335-0929
Adjunct Lecturer
Academic History:
  • - MBA, Henry B. Tippie College of Business, The University of Iowa, 2005
  • - BS in Civil Engineering, University of Notre Dame, Notre Dame, IN, 1999


Top