Back to Henry B. Tippie College Directory Homepage

Department of Management Sciences

Phone: 319-335-0858   Fax: 319-335-0297   Office: S210 PBB   Web: tippie.uiowa.edu/management-sciences

Administration

Nick Street
Nick Street
Professor and Department Executive Officer
Ann Campbell
Ann M. Campbell
Professor and Director, PhD Program in Management Sciences
Barbara Carr
Barbara J. Carr
Department Secretary


Tenured and Tenure-Track Faculty


Kurt Anstreicher Kurt Anstreicher     kurt-anstreicher@uiowa.edu
Office: C120 PBB    Phone: 319-335-0865
Professor of Management Sciences, Senior Associate Dean, & complimentary appointment, Department of Computer Science
Gary C. Fethke Chair in Leadership

Academic History:
  • - PhD in Operations Research, Stanford University, Stanford, CA, 1983
  • - BA in Mathematics, Dartmouth College, Hanover, NH, 1978
Expertise: Interior-Point Algorithms, Linear and Nonlinear Programming, Nonlinear Integer Programming
Samuel Burer Samuel Burer     samuel-burer@uiowa.edu
Office: S346 PBB    Phone: 319-335-0931
Professor
Henry B. Tippie Research Fellow

Academic History:
  • - PhD in Algorithms, Combinatorics, and Optimization, Georgia Institute of Technology, 2001
  • - BS in Mathematics, University of Georgia, 1997
Expertise: Mathematical optimization, Operations research
Ann Campbell Ann Campbell     ann-campbell@uiowa.edu
Office: W244 PBB    Phone: 319-335-0918
Professor and Director, PhD Program in Management Sciences
Henry B. Tippie Research Fellow

Academic History:
  • - PhD in Industrial Engineering (Optimization), Georgia Institute of Technology, 2000
  • - BA in Computational and Applied Mathematics, Rice University, 1993
  • - BA in Economics, Rice University, 1993
Expertise: Inventory routing problems, Logistics problems inspired by disaster relief and preparation, Probabilistic routing problems, Routing and Pricing for B2C E-Commerce, Routing to reduce emissions, Transportation network design, Vehicle Routing and Scheduling Problems
Renato de Matta Renato de Matta     renato-dematta@uiowa.edu
Office: W232 PBB    Phone: 319-335-0956
Associate Professor
Larry and Lori Wright Research Fellow

Academic History:
  • - PhD in Decision Sciences, University of Pennsylvania, 1989
  • - ME in Industrial Engineering, University of the Philippines, 1979
  • - BS in Industrial Engineering, University of the Philippines, 1977
Expertise: Service Operations, Supply chain management, Flexible manufacturing systems, Integer programming, Logistics, Operations management, Production planning and scheduling
Philip Jones Philip Jones     philip-c-jones@uiowa.edu
Office: S282 PBB    Phone: 319-335-3737
Professor
Clement T. and Sylvia H. Hanson Family Chair in Manufacturing Productivity

Academic History:
  • - MA in Economics, University of California, Berkeley, 1977
  • - PhD in Operations Research, University of California, Berkeley, 1977
  • - MS in Operations Research, Stanford University, 1974
  • - BIE, Georgia Tech, 1973
Expertise: Capital equipment acquisition and implementation, Designing and improving manufacturing material management systems, Manufacturing policy, Manufacturing productivity and logistics
Johannes Ledolter Johannes Ledolter     johannes-ledolter@uiowa.edu
Office: S352 PBB    Phone: 319-335-3814
Professor, Management Sciences/Statistics & Actuarial Science
C. Maxwell Stanley Professor of International Operations Management

Academic History:
  • - PhD in Statistics, University of Wisconsin-Madison, 1975
  • - MS in Sociology and Statistics, University of Vienna, Austria, 1974
  • - MS in Statistics, University of Wisconsin-Madison, 1972
Expertise: Applied time series analysis, Data mining, Forecasting, International Business Education, Probability and statistics for engineering and physical sciences, Statistical applications in business, Statistical methods for quality and productivity improvement (Six Sigma), Statistics, Statistics in Medicine, especially Anesthesia, Surgery, and Ophthalmology
Qihang Lin Qihang Lin     qihang-lin@uiowa.edu
Office: S380 PBB    Phone: 319-335-0988
Assistant Professor
Academic History:
  • - PhD in Operations Research, Tepper School of Business, Carnegie Mellon University, Pittsburgh, PA, 2013
  • - BS in Mathematical Science, Tsinghua University, Beijing, China, 2008
Expertise: Algorithmic Crowdsourcing, Convex Optimization, Machine Learning, Stochastic Optimization
Timothy Lowe Timothy Lowe     timothy-lowe@uiowa.edu
Office: S334 PBB    Phone: 319-335-1026
Professor
Chester A. Phillips Professor of Operations Management

Academic History:
  • - PhD in Operations Research, Northwestern University, 1973
  • - ME, Iowa State University, 1967
  • - BSIE, Iowa State University, 1965
Expertise: Facility location/design and logistics, Mathematical programming theory and applications, Production/operations management, Supply Chain Management
Jeffrey Ohlmann Jeffrey Ohlmann     jeffrey-ohlmann@uiowa.edu
Office: S372 PBB    Phone: 319-335-0837
Associate Professor
Huneke Research Fellow

Academic History:
  • - PhD in Industrial & Operations Engineering, University of Michigan, 2003
  • - MS in Industrial & Operations Engineering, University of Michigan, 2001
  • - BS in Mathematics, University of Nebraska-Lincoln, 1998
Expertise: Heuristic Search, Logistics & Fleet Management, Operations Research in Agriculture, Sports Analytics
Gautam Pant Gautam Pant     gautam-pant@uiowa.edu
Office: W356 PBB    Phone: 319-335-0961
Associate Professor
Henry B. Tippie Research Fellow

Academic History:
  • - PhD in Business Administration, The University of Iowa, 2004
  • - MS in Computer Science, Baylor University, 1999
  • - BE in Computer Engineering, VJTI, University of Mumbai, 1996
Expertise: Analytics, Business Intelligence, Online Visibility, Web Mining
Padmini Srinivasan Padmini Srinivasan     padmini-srinivasan@uiowa.edu
Office: 101F LIB    Phone: 319-335-0733
Professor of Computer Science; complimentary appointment, Management Sciences
Academic History:
  • - PhD in Information Transfer, Syracuse University, 1985
  • - MSc in Biological Sciences, Birla Institute of Technology and Science, India, 1978
Expertise: Text mining and knowledge discovery, Text retrieval and categorization, Web crawlers: algorithms and evaluation
Nick Street Nick Street     nick-street@uiowa.edu
Office: S210 PBB    Phone: 319-335-1016
Professor and Department Executive Officer
Henry B. Tippie Research Professor in Management Sciences

Academic History:
  • - PhD in Computer Science, University of Wisconsin-Madison, 1994
  • - MS in Computer Science, DePaul University, 1990
  • - BA in Mathematics and Computer Science, Drake University, 1985
Expertise: Data mining, Health informatics, Machine learning, Mathematical programming
Barrett Thomas Barrett Thomas     barrett-thomas@uiowa.edu
Office: W272 PBB    Phone: 319-335-0938
Associate Professor
Gary C. Fethke Research Fellow

Academic History:
  • - PhD in Industrial and Operations Engineering, University of Michigan, 2002
  • - MS in Industrial and Operations Engineering, University of Michigan, 1999
  • - BA in Mathematics and Economics, Grinnell College, 1996
Expertise: Finite horizon stochastic dynamic programming, Heuristic Search, Logistics, Vehicle routing
Kang Zhao Kang Zhao     kang-zhao@uiowa.edu
Office: S224 PBB    Phone: 319-335-3831
Assistant Professor
Academic History:
  • - PhD in Information Sciences and Technology, The Pennsylvania State University, 2012
  • - MS in Computer Science, Eastern Michigan University, Ypsilanti, MI, 2006
  • - BE in Electrical and Information Engineering, Beijing Institute of Technology, Beijing, China, 2003
Expertise: social network analysis, social media mining, social computing, business analytics, supply-chain networks, agent-based models.
Xun Zhou Xun Zhou     xun-zhou@uiowa.edu
Office: S280 PBB    Phone: 319-384-3335
Assistant Professor
Academic History:
  • - PhD in Computer Science, University of Minnesota, 2014
  • - MS in Computer Science, Harbin Institute of Technology, China, 2009
  • - BS in Computer Science, Harbin Institute of Technology, China, 2007
Expertise: Spatial/spatiotemporal data analytics and mining, spatial database, Geographic Information Systems (GIS)

Lecturers


Michael Avery Michael Avery     michael-avery@uiowa.edu
Office: S221 PBB    Phone: 319-335-0922
Lecturer
Academic History:
  • - MBA, Henry B. Tippie College of Business, The University of Iowa, 2010
  • - BA in Organizational Leadership, Northern Kentucky University, Highland Heights, KY, 2006
Michael Colbert Michael Colbert     michael-colbert@uiowa.edu
Office: S338 PBB    Phone: 319-335-0897
Adjunct Lecturer
Academic History:
  • - BS in Recreation Management, Culver Stockton College, 1994
Kevin Felker Kevin Felker     kevin-felker@uiowa.edu
Office: W306 PBB    Phone: 319-335-0851
Lecturer
Academic History:
  • - MS in Information Management, Arizona State University, 1998
  • - MPA in City Management/Urban Planning, Eastern Michigan University, 1994
  • - BS in Social Policy, Northwestern University, 1986
Yvonne Galusha Yvonne Galusha     yvonne-galusha@uiowa.edu
Office: S378 PBB    Phone: 319-353-2230
Lecturer
Academic History:
  • - MBA, Wichita State University, 1991
  • - BS in Computer Science, Graceland University, 1981
Expertise: Computer Security, Information Systems Development Processes, Microsoft Office Software, Multimedia Web based Applications, Programing Visual Basic Client and Web Applications with ASP.NET, Visual Basic for Applications Macro Programming
Patrick Johanns Patrick Johanns     patrick-johanns@uiowa.edu
Office: W274 PBB    Phone: 319-335-0949
Lecturer
Academic History:
  • - PhD in Operations Management, Henry B. Tippie College of Business, The University of Iowa, 1995
  • - MBA in Management Sciences, Henry B. Tippie College of Business, The University of Iowa, 1991
  • - BS in Microbiology, The University of Iowa, 1986
Expertise: Big Data Analysis, Community Development in Africa, International Supply Chain Management, Management of Non-Profit Organizations, Mathematical and Computer Modeling

Adjunct and Visiting Faculty


Thomas Bednar Thomas Bednar     thomas-bednar@uiowa.edu
Office: W383 PBB    Phone: 319-335-0988
Lecturer
Academic History:
  • - BBA in Accounting and Finance, The University of Iowa, 1973
Jennifer Blackhurst Jennifer Blackhurst     jennifer-blackhurst@uiowa.edu
Office: W236 PBB    Phone: 319-335-0643
Visiting Professor and Faculty Director, MBA Strategic Innovation Career Academy
Academic History:
  • - PhD in Industrial Engineering, College of Engineering, The University of Iowa, 2002
  • - MS in Industrial and Manufacturing Systems Engineering, Russ College of Engineering and Technology, Ohio University, Athens, OH, 1997
  • - BS in Industrial and Manufacturing Systems Engineering, Russ College of Engineering and Technology, Ohio University, Athens, OH, 1995
James Chaffee James Chaffee     james-chaffee@uiowa.edu
Office: C240E PBB    Phone: 319-335-0797
Assistant Dean, Information Technology and Facilities, and Adjunct Lecturer, Management Sciences
Academic History:
  • - MA in Educational Technology, University of Illinois Springfield, 2001
  • - BS in Secondary English, California University of PA, 1990
Expertise: Computer Forensics, Information Technology Management in Higher Education, Instructional Design, Networking, Online teaching using Microsoft Kinect
Daniel Conway Daniel Conway     daniel-g-conway@uiowa.edu
Office: S210 PBB    Phone: 319-335-0858
Adjunct Lecturer
Academic History:
  • - PhD in Decision Sciences, Indiana University, 1992
  • - MA in Mathematics, Inidana University, 1989
  • - BA in Computer Science and Mathematics, Augustana College, 1986
Joy Donald Joy Donald     joydonald1@gmail.com
Office: W362 PBB    Phone: 319-335-3790
Strategic Process Coordinator and Adjunct Lecturer
Academic History:
  • - MBA in Focus: Strategy & Organization Development, Henry B. Tippie College of Business, The University of Iowa, 2002
  • - BA in Psychology, California State University, Bakersfield, CA, 1995
Michael Grieves Michael Grieves     mgrieves@ameritech.net
Office: C300 PBB    Phone: 319-335-0920
Adjunct Associate Professor, Consortium Institute of Management & Business Analysis (CUIS)
Academic History:
  • - , EDM (Executive Doctor in Management), Case Western Reserve University, Cleveland, OH, 2000
  • - MBA, Oakland University, Rochester, MI, 1979
  • - BSc, Michigan State University, East Lansing, MI, 1972
George Hollins George Hollins     george-hollins@uiowa.edu
Office: 2660 UCC    Phone: 319-335-0126
Adjunct Lecturer
Academic History:
  • - MBA in Organizational Leadership, St. Ambrose University, 2007
Richard Jerz Richard Jerz     richard-jerz@uiowa.edu
Office: S210 PBB    Phone: 319-335-0858
Adjunct Assistant Professor
Academic History:
  • - PhD in Industrial Engineering, The University of Iowa, 1997
  • - MBA, St. Ambrose University, 1984
  • - BS in Industrial Engineeering, Illinois Institute of Technology, 1978
Kirk Karwan Kirk Karwan     kirk.karwan@furman.edu
Office: C300 PBB    Phone: 319-335-0920
Adjunct Professor, Consortium of Universities for International Studies (CUIS)
Academic History:
  • - PhD in Public Policy and Management, Carnegie Mellon University, Pittsburgh, PA, 1979
  • - MS in Operations Research, Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore, MD, 1973
  • - BS in Operations Research and Industrial Engineering, Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore, MD, 1972


Top