W. Bruce  Johnson

W. Bruce Johnson


Professor Emeritus - May 2014

Academic History

  • PhD, Ohio State University, 1975
  • MS in Accounting, Ohio State University, 1973
  • BS, University of Oregon, 1970


  • Applied equity valuation
  • Corporate financial reporting
  • Financial statement analysis

Selected Publications

  • Understanding Accounting Measurements, initial draft of book (approximately 15 chapters completed), W. Bruce Johnson
  • Financial Reporting & Analysis, 6th Edition, Lawrence Revsine, Daniel Collins, W. Bruce Johnson, Fred Mittlesteadt, McGraw-Hill/Irwin, 2014 - Publication Details Forthcoming
  • The Earnings Forecast Accuracy, Valuation Model Use and Price Target Performance of Sell-Side Equity Analysts, Cristi A. Gleason, W. Bruce Johnson, Haidan Li, Contemporary Accounting Research, 2013
  • Materiality Decisions and the Correction of Accounting Errors, Andrew A. Acito, Jeffrey J. Burkes, W. Bruce Johnson, The Accounting Review, vol 84, 2009, 659-688
  • The Contagion Effects of Accounting Restatements, W. Bruce Johnson, C. Gleason, N. Jenkins, The Accounting Review, vol 83, 2008, 83-110
  • Stock Repurchases as an Earnings Management Device, W. Bruce Johnson, P. Hribar, N. Jenkins, Journal of Accounting and Economics, 2006
  • Are Investors Misled by "Pro Forma" Earnings?, W. Bruce Johnson, W. Schwartz, Contemporary Accounting Research, 2005

Working Papers

  • Evidence on the Construct Validity of Returns-Based Measures of Conditional Conservatism, Cristi A. Gleason, Bradford Hepfer, W. Bruce Johnson, Samuel J. Melessa

Other Work

  • Financial Reporting & Analysis, 6th edition, Daniel W. Collins, Larry Revsine, W. Bruce Johnson, Fred Mittelstaedt, Leonard Soffer, McGraw-Hill, Irwin, 2013, 1122
  • Financial Reporting & Analysis, Lawrence Revsine, Daniel W. Collins, W. Bruce Johnson, Fred Mittelstaedt, McGraw-Hill, Irwin, 2011

Professional Affiliations

  • Editorial Board Member, The Accounting Review, 2005 - 2008

Committees and Professional Service

  • Accounting Standards Executive Committee, AICPA, 2008-2012