Toggle Search

This on-campus series of lectures covers a variety of economic topics and is presented by scholars from both the private and public sectors. Open to all economics faculty and students, these presentations occur roughly once a week during the academic year. 

The series is funded by a gift from Iowa alum Clarence Tow, who received his undergraduate and master's degrees from the university. Tow spent a large portion of his professional career with the Federal Reserve Bank of Kansas City, where he served as director of research. vice president. and senior vice president of economic research. His gift provides the resources to host a lecture series that would inspire discussion and progressive thought.

Schedule—Fall 2016

Date Speaker
Monday, August 29
3:30–5:00 pm 
3321 SC
Sergio Firpo
Insper

Tuesday, September 13
3:30–4:45 pm
C121 PBB

Chris Chambers
University of California, San Diego
On Multiple Discount Rates
 
Wednesday, September 14
3:30–4:45 pm 
C121 PBB
Mark Borgschulte
University of Illinois 
A Path Out: Prescription Drug Abuse and Suicide
Monday, September 26
3:30–5:00 pm 
3321 SC
Konrad Menzel
New York University
Strategic Network Formation with Many Agents
Wednesday, October 5
3:30–5:00 pm 
3321 SC
Sally Sadoff
University of California, San Diego
Dynamic Inconsistency in Food Choice: Experimental Evidence from a Food Desert  
Friday, October 7
3:30–5:00 pm 
3321 SC
Arlene Wong
Princeton University
The Transmission of Monetary Policy to Consumption and Population Aging
Monday, October 10
3:30–5:00 pm 
3321 SC
Tong Li
Vanderbilt University 
Tuesday, October 11
3:30–4:45 pm 
C121 PBB
Max Stinchcombe
University of Texas

Friday, October 21
3:30–5:00 pm 
3321 SC

David Berger
Northwestern University 
Monday, October 24
3:30–5:00 pm
3321 SC
Ben Williams
George Washington University 
Monday, November 7
3:30–5:00 pm
3321 SC
Tiago Cavalcanti
University of Cambridge
Wednesday, November 9
3:30–5:00 pm 
3321 SC

Helen Levy
University of Michigan

Friday, November 11
3:30–5:00 pm 
3321 SC
Scott Carrell
University of California, Davis
Friday, November 18
3:30–5:00 pm 
3321 SC
Alessandro Peri
University of Colorado, Boulder 
Tueday, November 29
3:30–5:00 pm 
3321 SC
Herakles Polemarchakis
University of Warwick
Monday, December 5
3:30–5:00 pm 
3321 SC
Mallesh Pai
Rice University