Bankers Trust 100 Anniversary Logo
Wednesday, October 11, 2017

The University of Iowa’s Tippie College of Business will honor the 100th anniversary of the founding of Des Moines-based Bankers Trust for the century of contributions the company has made to Iowa business.

The company will receive the college’s Oscar C. Schmidt Iowa Business Leadership Award in ceremonies on Monday at 7 p.m. in the Tea Room, 713 Walnut St., in Des Moines, with a reception beginning at 6 p.m. Registration is available online at or call 319-335-3496.

Opened on June 1, 1917, Bankers Trust had more than 2,000 customer visits on its first day who deposited more than $485,000. Its owners over the years have included the Hubbell and Ruan families, two of the most significant families in Des Moines business history, who have steered the bank through such difficult financial straits as the Great Depression and the farm crisis. The bank has remained locally owned since the doors first opened.

“Though it’s grown significantly in 100 years, Bankers Trust still has the same name as it did when it was founded, and is well known throughout Iowa for its commitment to its core values and for helping Iowa’s economy grow,” says Sarah Gardial, dean of the Tippie College of Business.

The Schmidt Business Leadership Award was established in 1980 to recognize outstanding Iowa business leaders. Past winners include W.A. (Bill) Krause of Krause Gentle, operator of Kum and Go convenience stores; the leadership team at Pella Corp.; and J. Barry Griswell, chairman, president and CEO of The Principal Financial Group; and the Cloid Smith family of Sioux City, founders and owners of the American Popcorn Co. that makes Jolly Time popcorn.