Monday, October 17, 2022

The statistics division of the American Society for Quality (ASQ) honored Johannes Ledolter with the 2022 William G. Hunter Award.

Ledolter is the Robert Thomas Holmes Professor of Business Analytics at the Tippie College of Business and a professor of statistics and actuarial science for the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences at the University of Iowa. He has been at the university since 1987.

The award is named in honor of the ASQ statistic division's first chair, William G. Hunter. It is given annually to an individual who exemplifies Hunter's enduring qualities of excellence in statistics as a leader, communicator, consultant, educator, innovator, integrator of statistics with other disciplines, and an implementer who obtains meaningful results.

Ledolter has co-authored eleven books and been an elected fellow of the American Society for Quality (2010) and the American Statistical Association (1991). His previous awards include the Instructor of the Year Award for the Tippie Executive MBA Program (1999) and Dean’s Teaching Award (2005).