Tippie faculty recognized for outstanding contributions

Tippie faculty make their mark on business and society through their research, teaching, and service. External, institution-level, and collegiate awards recognize the contributions of these outstanding scholars.

External research honors

Tippie faculty research is regularly cited in both scholarly and popular publications, and receives multiple grants and awards each year.

Hinds awarded Deloitte Doctoral Fellowship
Cory Hinds, PhD candidate in accounting, was awarded the 2022 Deloitte Doctoral Fellowship Award - Deloitte Foundation.

Rong Su is one of five recipients of inaugural UI Mid-Career Faculty Scholar Award
The award provides funding to outstanding tenured associate professors who have an established national or international reputation in their discipline and are exceptional teachers in and outside the classroom.

Colbert receives Board of Regents faculty excellence honor
Amy Colbert, professor of management & entrepreneurship, was one of six UI faculty who were honored by the Board of Regents, State of Iowa, for their exceptional contributions and sustained record of excellence.

Amazon, NSF award $800,000 to UI researchers to make AI algorithms less discriminatory
Machine learning algorithms play an ever-larger role in peoples’ lives, from approving mortgages and credit cards to getting a job interview to what advertisements we see in our social media feeds. But analysts have discovered those algorithms can be unfair, discriminating against people based on race, gender, health conditions, and a range of other factors. Qihang Lin is part of a team of researchers that received an $800,000 grant as part of an initiative with the National Science Foundation and Amazon to make machine learning algorithms less discriminatory.

Tippie research looks to maximize supervisor, remote worker productivity
Beth Livingston is the PI on a recent $1.1 million grant from the CDC which was featured in the Daily Iowan. The funding will help researchers in the UI colleges of business and public health investigate how to maximize productivity while maintaining worker wellbeing in remote work environments over the next five years.

Data-driven Disease Prevention and Control in Animal Health
Nick Street (PI) and Qihang Lin received an NSF sub-award to extend their federated learning solution to animal health problems, such as outbreak and antimicrobial resistance prediction.

It's not what you said, it's the way you said it
Investors and analysts can glean information from tone of voice and what’s left unsaid, according to Jeff Cossette's latest roundup of the academic literature, including research from Tippie's Scott Asay and Michael Durney. Read more in IR Magazine.

Nahrgang studies show side gigs help full-time careers
Jennifer Nahrgang, professor of management & entrepreneurship, tells KCRG-TV that people who work a second job because they're interested in it often show better performance at their primary job.

Consumers value a product viewed online more if they see it being virtually touched
Consumers who see a product on sale being virtually touched are more engaged and willing to pay more than if the item is displayed on its own, according to a recent research paper by Andrea Luangrath. Read more about it in The Conversation.

Faculty award news

Nick Street

Nick Street wins the Data Mining Prize from INFORMS for his lifetime achievement

Tuesday, October 18, 2022
Tippie's Nick Street has won the highest award given by the Institute for Operations Research and the Management Sciences (INFORMS) Society on Data Mining.
Johannes Ledolter

Professor Johannes Ledolter wins William G. Hunter Award

Monday, October 17, 2022
The statistics division of the American Society for Quality (ASQ) honored Johannes Ledolter with the 2022 William G. Hunter Award.
Erin Johnson

Tippie’s Erin Johnson wins the Hubbard-Walder Award for Teaching Excellence

Monday, October 17, 2022
Johnson, who teaches within the Department of Management and Entrepreneurship at the Tippie College of Business, is a versatile instructor who teaches in both the undergraduate and MBA programs, in-person and online, and in multiple content areas.
Corridor Business Journal logo

Tippie faculty study gender gaps in scientific research

Tuesday, August 23, 2022
Noah Tong | Corridor Business Journal
Researchers from the Tippie College of Business have been awarded a $288,779 grant from the National Science Foundation to better understand why male researchers publish more papers on average and generate more citations than their female colleagues.
stylized illustration of two heads

NSF grant to help Tippie faculty study gender gaps in scientific research

Thursday, August 18, 2022
Tom Snee
Rong Su, associate professor of management and entrepreneurship, and Kang Zhao, associate professor of business analytics, have received a $288,779 grant from the National Science Foundation to study why more male scientists publish papers and are cited more widely than female scientists.

Tippie research awards

Early Career Faculty Research Award

This award recognizes a faculty member’s research contributions early in his or her academic career.

2022—Daniel Newton (M&E)

2021—Andrea Luangrath (Marketing)

2020—Richard Peter (Finance)

2019—Rong Su (M&E)

2018—Qihang Lin (Management Sciences)

2017—Jaron Wilde (Accounting)

2016—Kang Zhao (Management Sciences)

2015—Ning Li (M&O)

2014—Bill Hedgcock (Marketing)

David and Lois Gardner Faculty Award for Mid-Career Excellence

This award recognizes associate professors who have had two years of outstanding research productivity.

2022—Jaron Wilde (Accounting)

2021—Eean Crawford (M&E)

2020—Scott Asay (Accounting)

2019—Ning Li (M&E)

2018—Yiming Qian (Finance)

2018—Jing “Alice” Wang (Marketing)

Research Impact Award (formerly Senior Faculty Research Award)

This award is open to all faculty levels and recognizes a researcher with a paper or stream of papers that have had an exceptional impact on their field.

2022—Tong Yao (Finance)

2021—Amy Colbert (M&E)

2020—Jen Blackhurst (Business Analytics)

2019—Jon Garfinkel (Finance)

2018—Cathy Cole (Marketing)

2017—Paul Hribar (Accounting)

2017—Greg Stewart (M&O)

2016—Antonio Galvao (Economics)

2016—Michael Mount (M&O)

2015—David Bates (Finance)

2015—Tim Lowe (Management Sciences)

Charles A. Taff Research Excellence Award

Recognizes a distinguished research record in one or more of the following areas: economics, logistics, transportation and distribution, computer science, and information systems.

2022—Nicholas Yannelis (Economics)

2021—Rabah Amir (Economics)

2020—Patrick Fan (Business Analytics)