Honoring our best

We recognize outstanding Tippie alumni for their professional accomplishments and commitment to the college through two awards: Alum of the Year and Young Alum of the Year.


The award recipients must:

  • Must be an alum of the Tippie College of Business at the University of Iowa (BBA, MBA, MA, MS, MAC, PhD). The award is not for "friends" or "associates" of the college.
  • Be engaged in the life of the college! This could mean serving on an advisory board or committee; regularly speaking to classes or student organizations; being involved in student organizations as a mentor or adviser; encouraging employers to hire Tippie students for internships or full-time work; providing experiential learning opportunities for students, providing financial resources, etc. Again, the alum must be an active presence within the Tippie College. 
  • Have achieved a distinguished level of professional/career success.
  • Cannot be a current employee of the Tippie College of Business.
  • Be 40 and under for the Young Alum of the Year award only.

Nominations will be accepted until Friday, January 28, at 5 p.m. CST.

Submit a nomination

Past recipients 

Year Alum of the Year Young Alum of the Year
2021 Sue Taylor, MBA 2001 Roberto Paniagua, BBA 2011
2020 Christopher Klein, BBA 1985 Wenran Xie, BBA 2013
2019 Mark Buthman, BBA 1982 Jon Raftis, BBA 2010/MBA 2015
Kevin Velovitch, BBA 2012
2018 Trevor Schauenberg, BBA 1991 Shalini Campbell, BBA 2004
2017 Chris Hoffman, BBA 1985 Claudia Marban, BBA 1999
2016 Stephen Belyn, BBA 1991 Todd Nelson, MBA 2007
2015 Margaret (Peg) Stessman, EMBA 2012 Chuck Mersch, BBA 2007/MBA 2008
2014 Dana Ramundt, BBA 1974 Tom Niblock, BBA 2007