Monday, May 9, 2022

Each year the Tippie College of Business recognizes its faculty and staff with collegiate awards for excellence in teaching, research, and service. The 2022 award winners were announced at a ceremony on May 4, 2022. The awards, criteria and recipients are listed below.


Faculty and Staff Awards

Tippie Diversity & Inclusion Award
This award recognizes Tippie faculty and staff as well as programs, departments, and centers engaged in diversity initiatives during the previous academic year that have promoted the development of an inclusive, diverse community in the college.

2022 Individual Winner: Cathy Zaharis

2022 Team Winner: Undergraduate Programs Office staff


Faculty Awards

Early Career Faculty Research Award
This award recognizes a faculty member’s research contributions early in their academic career.

2022 Winner: Daniel Newton

David and Lois Gardner Faculty Award for Mid-Career Excellence
This award recognizes associate professors who have had two years of outstanding research productivity.

2022 Winner: Jaron Wilde

Research Impact Award
This award is open to all faculty levels and recognizes a researcher with a paper or stream of papers that have had an exceptional impact on their field.

2022 Winner: Tong Yao

Charles A. Taff Research Excellence Award
This award recognizes a distinguished research record in one or more of the following areas: economics, logistics, transportation and distribution, computer science and information systems.

2022 Winner: Nicholas Yannelis

Collegiate Teaching Award
This award recognizes excellence in teaching.

2022 Winner in the Instructional Track/Adjunct category: Kristina Bigsby

2022 Winner in the Tenure-track category: Paul Hribar

Graduate Assistant Teaching Awards
Two awards are given for the best overall master’s student teaching assistant. Nominations are solicited from department executive officers, Ph.D. directors (for Ph.D. award), and master’s director (for the master’s award). Course supervisors and others may also submit nominations.

2022 Teaching Assistant Award Winners: Bryce Pyrah and Jingwen Tian

Innovation in Teaching Award
This award is open to anyone who teaches Tippie students and focuses on an instructor’s use of a particular teaching practice, activity, or technique that advances Tippie’s strategic priorities.

2022 Winners: Kay Hegarty

Distinguished Mentor Award
This award recognizes a faculty member who has provided excellent research guidance, general assistance to graduate students, had an impact on students individually and as a group, and/or assisted students in preparation for career decision making and advancement.

2022 Winner: Paul Hribar

Outstanding Service Contribution by a Faculty Member Award
This award recognizes outstanding service contribution by a tenure- or non-tenure-track faculty member.

2022 Winner: Stephen Courtright

Henry A. Johnson Entrepreneurship Teaching Award
This award was established by Martin and Barbara Johnson in honor of Martin’s father, Henry Johnson, to recognize excellence in teaching entrepreneurship and innovation in the Tippie College of Business.

2022 Winner: Kevin Krause

Career Achievement Award

This award is open to full and emeritus professors and is intended to recognize an exceptional level of research achievement and impact over an academic career.

2022 Winners: Dan Collins and Sara Rynes-Weller


Elected Staff Council Awards

Edith Ennis Award
The Edith Ennis Award is based on the following criteria: a selfless commitment to the college, its constituents, and its mission; accessibility; optimism and cheerfulness; and teaching/service effectiveness.

2022 Winner: Cathy Zaharis

Elected Staff Council New Staff Impact Award
This award recognizes new staff members who have made significant contributions to the Tippie College of Business during his or her service and gone above and beyond during his or her limited time in the college. The individuals should also show potential for further contributions to the college.

2022 Winners: Francine Bryce and Jennifer Jacobson

Elected Staff Council Outstanding Staff Contribution Award
This award recognizes someone who demonstrates one or all of the following areas related to the college’s goals, mission, and values. Namely, integrity: demonstrates strong ethics with an air of humility; innovation: develops fresh initiatives, new approaches, or process/task improvements that lead to efficiency or effectiveness; and impact: leaves a lasting influence on the students, faculty, and staff of the Tippie community, going above and beyond the call of duty.

2022 Winners: Sidney Hoyle and Ali Yildirim

Elected Staff Council Outstanding Team Contribution Award
This award mirrors the Outstanding Staff Contribution Award but is intended to recognize a team or group of Tippie staff who worked together to impact the college in a positive way, to further its mission, vision, goals, and/or strategic plan.

2022 Winner: Behavioral Lab Renovation Team