Tuesday, April 28, 2020

A senior member of the Iowa Men’s Tennis team, Jason Kerst (BBA20), was recently awarded the Robert F. Ray Faculty Representative Award for outstanding academic excellence, athletic excellence, and leadership.  

Kerst is from Ann Arbor, Michigan, and will graduate in May with a degree in management from the Tippie College of Business, as well as minors in Spanish and sport and recreation management. He is also a member of the Honors program, and will graduate with honors designation.

Kerst has participated in a variety of community service and leadership experiences during his time at Iowa. He has been a representative on the Iowa Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (ISAAC) for the past two years and was elected president of the committee this year. He also serves as a senator on the UI Student Government (UISG).

Kerst has earned the Presidential Committee on Athletics Medallion three times, is a five-time dean’s list honoree, is a Big Ten Distinguished Scholar (spring 2019), an Academic All-Big Ten honoree (spring 2018, 2019), an International Tennis Association Scholar Athlete, was the Male Hawkeye of the Year recipient at the 2018 Golden Herkys, and is a four-year letter-winner.

After graduation, Kerst will attend the University of South Carolina on a full academic scholarship where he plans to earn an MBA with career aspirations in athletics administration.

The Robert F. Ray Faculty Award was established by President Willard L. Boyd in honor of Dean Robert F. Ray, the University of Iowa faculty representative to the Big Ten Conference from 1956-1982. This award is presented annually to one male and one female senior student-athlete who have completed eligibility and have demonstrated outstanding academic excellence, athletic excellence, and leadership.