Dain Donelson portrait outside of the Pappajohn Business Building

Dain Donelson wins Deloitte Foundation Wildman Medal Award

Monday, May 8, 2023
Tippie Accounting Professor Dain Donelson, along with his three co-authors, has been awarded the 2023 Deloitte Foundation Wildman Medal Award by the American Accounting Association.
Beth Livingston

Beth Livingston wins Faculty Communicating Ideas Award

Monday, April 3, 2023
The University of Iowa Office of the Vice President for Research recently announced Associate Professor Beth Livingston will receive the 2023 Faculty Communicating Ideas Award.
Jiajie Xu and Beste Basciftci on black background with Iowa logo top right

Two Tippie professors win 2023 Early Career Scholar Awards

Tuesday, March 7, 2023
Assistant Professor of Business Analytics Beste Basciftci and Assistant Professor of Finance Jiajie Xu were selected for Early Career Scholar Awards from the University of Iowa Office of the Vice President for Research.

Faculty recognized for research impact

Tuesday, January 31, 2023
A number of Tippie faculty were recognized in a recent study published by Stanford University as among the top 100,000 most impactful scientific researchers in their fields.
Professor Jennifer Nahrgang

Nahrgang appointed SIOP fellow

Tuesday, January 31, 2023
Jennifer Nahrgang, professor of management and entrepreneurship, has been elected a fellow in the Society of Industrial Organization and Psychology (SIOP).
entry arch

Burer honored for long-term impact of paper

Tuesday, January 31, 2023
Sam Burer, professor of business analytics, received the inaugural Activity Group on Optimization Test of Time Award from the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics.
Nick Street

Nick Street wins the Data Mining Prize from INFORMS for his lifetime achievement

Tuesday, October 18, 2022
Tippie's Nick Street has won the highest award given by the Institute for Operations Research and the Management Sciences (INFORMS) Society on Data Mining.
Johannes Ledolter

Professor Johannes Ledolter wins William G. Hunter Award

Monday, October 17, 2022
The statistics division of the American Society for Quality (ASQ) honored Johannes Ledolter with the 2022 William G. Hunter Award.
Erin Johnson

Tippie’s Erin Johnson wins the Hubbard-Walder Award for Teaching Excellence

Monday, October 17, 2022
Johnson, who teaches within the Department of Management and Entrepreneurship at the Tippie College of Business, is a versatile instructor who teaches in both the undergraduate and MBA programs, in-person and online, and in multiple content areas.
Corridor Business Journal logo

Tippie faculty study gender gaps in scientific research

Tuesday, August 23, 2022
Researchers from the Tippie College of Business have been awarded a $288,779 grant from the National Science Foundation to better understand why male researchers publish more papers on average and generate more citations than their female colleagues.
stylized illustration of two heads

NSF grant to help Tippie faculty study gender gaps in scientific research

Thursday, August 18, 2022
Rong Su, associate professor of management and entrepreneurship, and Kang Zhao, associate professor of business analytics, have received a $288,779 grant from the National Science Foundation to study why more male scientists publish papers and are cited more widely than female scientists.
Jennifer Nahrgang

Nahrgang wins international scholar award

Monday, June 13, 2022
The Network of Leadership Scholars (NLS) and the International Centre of Leadership and Followership at Durham University Business School in England has awarded Tippie’s Jennifer Nahrgang the 2022 NLS Mid-Career Standout Scholar Award.
Poets & Quants logo

2022 Best 40-Under-40 MBA Professors: Stephen Courtright, University of Iowa Tippie College of Business

Friday, May 13, 2022
Stephen Courtright, 39, is the Henry B. Tippie Professor of Management & Entrepreneurship and Director of Executive Education at the University of Iowa’s Tippie College of Business. He is also the founding Director of the Tippie Leadership Collaborative, which provides executive training and lifelong learning programs for organizations across Iowa and the United States.

Tippie College of Business recognizes faculty and staff with 2022 collegiate awards

Monday, May 9, 2022
Each year the Tippie College of Business recognizes its faculty and staff with collegiate awards for excellence in teaching, research, and service. The 2022 award winners were announced at a ceremony on May 4, 2022.

Su one of five recipients of inaugural UI Mid-Career Faculty Scholar Award

Wednesday, May 4, 2022
Rong Su, associate professor of management and entrepreneurship and Pioneer Research Fellow in the Tippie College of Business, has been named one of the five inaugural recipients of a University of Iowa Mid-Career Faculty Scholar Award.

Colbert receives Board of Regents faculty excellence honor

Thursday, February 17, 2022
Amy Colbert, professor of management & entrepreneurship, was one of six UI faculty who were honored by the Board of Regents, State of Iowa, for their exceptional contributions and sustained record of excellence.

Park wins best dissertation-based paper

Wednesday, August 11, 2021
Tippie Assistant Professor of Management & Entrepreneurship Semin Park was chosen for the best dissertation-based paper at the 2021 Academy of Management meeting. Her paper was titled: "The Impact of Individual Conflict Experiences on Proximal Task Performance in A Multi-Team Context." Park earned her Ph.D. in management from the University of Connecticut in 2019 and researches conflict management...

Van Iddekinge wins Best Paper Award

Tuesday, August 10, 2021
Personnel Psychology awarded Professor Chad Van Iddekinge the Best Paper Award for his paper titled, “A meta-analysis of the criterion-related validity of prehire work experience.” Finalists for the award are nominated based on the number of downloads from PPSYCH website, Google Scholar citations, and ratings of the article’s contributions to research on people at work. Authors include Chad H. Van...

Quinto wins FARS Outstanding Discussion Award

Wednesday, July 28, 2021
Assistant Professor of Accounting Claire Quinto won a FARS Outstanding Discussion Award from the American Accounting Association. This award recognizes individuals who provided outstanding discussions of papers at the 2021 Financial Accounting and Reporting Section Midyear Meeting.

Brown receives top academic honor

Tuesday, September 1, 2020
In the world of academia, the success of research faculty is heavily based on how many times their work is cited by their peers. Kenneth Brown, Associate Dean for Undergraduate Program at the University of Iowa Tippie College of Business recently received the 2020 Academy of Management Learning & Education (AMLE) Decade Award, one of the top academic honors in his field.

Burer receives top INFORMS computing society honor

Wednesday, August 26, 2020
Samuel Burer, professor of business analytics in the Tippie College of Business, along with Renato D.C. Monteiro, received the 2020 INFORMS Computing Society (ICS) prize for their pioneering work on low-rank semi-definite programming.

Kurt Anstreicher honored with Board of Regents Award for Faculty Excellence

Thursday, April 30, 2020
Professor and Gary C. Fethke Chair in Leadership Kurt Anstreicher has been named a 2020 recipient of the prestigious Board of Regents Award for Faculty Excellence.

Marketing professor receives top university award for teaching

Tuesday, March 3, 2020
Associate Professor of Practice Nancy Abram received a 2019 President and Provost Award for Teaching, the University of Iowa’s top teaching honor.