Honoring our best

We recognize outstanding Tippie alumni for their professional accomplishments and commitment to the college through two awards: Alum of the Year and Young Alum of the Year.


The award recipients must:

  • Be an alum of the University of Iowa with an Iowa degree in business (BBA, MBA, M.A., MAC, PhD). The award is not for "friends" or "associates" of the college.
  • Have achieved a distinguished level of professional/career success.
  • Be engaged in the life of the college (examples include serving on an advisory board or committee; speaking to classes or student organizations; mentoring students; providing financial resources; encouraging employers to hire Tippie students for internships or full-time work; providing experiential learning opportunities for students, etc.)
  • Cannot be a current employee of the Tippie College of Business.
  • Be 40 and under for the Young Alum of the Year award only.

Nominations are now closed for the 2019 Alumni Awards.

Awards will be presented at our Chicago Alumni Luncheon on Tuesday, February 12, 2019.

Past recipients 

Year Alum of the Year Young Alum of the Year
2018 Trevor Schauenberg, BBA 1991 Shalini Campbell, BBA 2004
2017 Chris Hoffman, BBA 1985 Claudia Marban, BBA 1999
2016 Stephen Belyn, BBA 1991 Todd Nelson, MBA 2007
2015 Margaret (Peg) Stessman, EMBA 2012 Chuck Mersch, BBA 2007/MBA 2008
2014 Dana Ramundt, BBA 1974 Tom Niblock, BBA 2007