It’s Iowa City. 1858.

Tippie College of Business

Just imagine: gas street lights provided illumination to the city’s dirt roads, ferries crossed the Iowa River, and the railroad had just arrived in Iowa City two years earlier. It was a time of incredible change and growth for both the city and the university.

The Tippie College of Business' roots can be traced back to that time, too, just 11 years after the University of Iowa was established in 1847. The first “business” course offered was Moral Philosophy, which examined political economy, a subject that evolved to later include modern economics, finance, and commerce.

Today, more than 150 years later, the Tippie College of Business is one of the top-ranked, best-value business programs in the country. Tippie’s more than 52,000 living alumni are succeeding in today’s business environment around the globe.

Tippie leadership

Any organization needs strong leadership at the helm to steer it toward success, and that strength is right here at Tippie. Our leadership team works hard on refining our programs so that our students are able to find jobs that provide both professional and personal satisfaction. On top of that, our Tippie Advisory Board provides guidance, support, and insight to the college’s leadership team.  

Amy L. Kristof-Brown, Dean

Since joining the college in 1997, Kristof-Brown has taught in our undergraduate, MBA, and PhD programs, produced rewarding research, and served as Management & Entrepreneurship Department Executive Officer and as Senior Associate Dean. Her work with our advisory board and our most important donors are invaluable as she leads the college into the future. Her vision, insight, and past leadership roles at the college are huge assets as we tackle our strategic priorities.

Barrett Thomas, Senior Associate Dean

Internationally acclaimed for his research and highly respected within the college, Thomas's role includes overseeing the college’s budgets and all aspects related to the faculty. His experience as Business Analytics Department Executive Officer and as a Tippie Research Professor provide a solid understanding of college operations as he moves serves in the Senior Associate Dean role.

Charles Keene, Associate Dean, Undergraduate Program

Keene has experience in a variety of aspects of business including retail, production, sales/marketing, credit/administration, project and general management. He is a member of the American Marketing Association and the American Management Association. He also works with a variety of small business and entrepreneurs in consulting endeavors.

Jennifer Blackhurst, Associate Dean, MBA Programs

Blackhurst’s responsibilities include overseeing the college’s vast portfolio of MBA and graduate offerings. Whether in Italy or Des Moines, Blackhurst’s team works diligently to deliver quality programs to students so that they can make a difference in the workplace.

Nick Street, Associate Dean for Research and PhD Programs

With over 120 published papers and an NSF CAREER award under his belt, Street’s goal is to keep Tippie at the leading-edge of business through innovative research projects that have real-world applications. He is passionate about making connections between the college and other interdisciplinary research around campus and around the globe.


Alumni Story
Henry Tippie

Why are we called the Tippie College of Business?

Henry B. Tippie was a farm boy who grew up in Belle Plaine, Iowa, and his education started in a one-room schoolhouse. After serving in the Army Air Force at 17, he came to the University of Iowa to study and graduated in 1949 with a BSC in accounting.

After a lot of hard work, Henry wanted to give back to the school he attributes his successes to, and in February 1999, he made a significant contribution to the College of Business to support its students and faculty. The college was renamed the Henry B. Tippie College of Business in Henry Tippie’s honor.

Read Story

Tippie has had nine deans during its 100+ year history.

  • Amy Kristof-Brown, 2020–present
  • Sarah Fisher Gardial, 2012–2020
  • William C. (Curt) Hunter, 2006–2012
  • Gary C. Fethke, 1993–2006
  • George G. Daly, 1983–1993
  • Emmett J. Vaughan, Interim Dean, 1981–1983
  • J. Richard Zecher, 1978–1981
  • Billy L. Barnes, 1963–1978
  • Sidney G. Winter, 1950–1963
  • Chester A. Phillips, 1921–1950